Suction Power3.853.853.853.853.85
Maneuverability4.274.274.274.274.27
Light Weight3.823.823.823.823.82

Dyson DC25 Review

Dyson DC25 Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson DC25 Reviews and Ratings

With the Dyson DC25 Ball being one of many vacuums available on the market today, you may be wondering which one will offer you the best bang for your buck. The DC25 upright is the next model in the Dyson vacuum lineup.  While it looks like a grownup version of the DC24, it offers more power than you could ever expect from a vacuum that is about half the size. It is available in the two flavors – the Dyson DC25 All Floors and the Dyson DC25 Animal – that we have come to expect from Dyson. Both models weigh a little less than its predecessors, and makes carrying them around the house much easier than some of the older Dyson models.



The Dyson DC25 uprights contain the same Root Cyclone technology that was present on their predecessors. Suction power is equivalent to earlier models so you are sure to pick up every last dust bunny or kitty fur ball that may be lingering in the corner. The suction power of the DC25 is not to be confused with the power that is contained in the DC24.  The DC25 may look like a grown up version of the DC24, but the similarities don’t go beyond that. The DC25 has more cyclone power than the DC24, which gives you the power to clean up every last allergen that may be in your house and deposit it into the clear bin canister so you and your loved ones can breathe cleaner air.

This machine also offers users a wide range of convenient cleaning options that makes cleaning multiple surfaces in your home a breeze. The DC25 comes complete with the same motorized brush bar that was present on previous models. This bar, when combined with the vacuums strong suction, can pick up every last dust mite or allergen source that can make life unpleasant for allergy sufferers.  The vacuum will also auto adjust to a change in floor height. Transitions between carpet and hard floors are becoming more commonplace in homes today, and the DC25 can easily transition from one floor type to another without any changes needing to be made on the part of the operator. There is also a built in brush control button which allows the user to turn the brush bar on and off if they so choose. This feature is great for providing a good cleaning to hardwood floors that may be susceptible to scratches from a rotating beater bar.

Dyson DC25 All Floors

The Dyson DC25 also offers user the convenience of a 16 foot hose and a quick draw telescoping wand.  The hose offers users the ability to vacuum a set of stairs without having the lug the vacuum up and down the stairs with them.  You are free to clean with both hands, free from having to worry about balancing the machine on the step below you while you clean with the other. The telescoping wand also comes in quite handy for cleaning those hard to reach corners of your house. Dreaded cobwebs will become a thing of the past.  The wand will do the stretching so you don’t have to.

This vacuum also comes complete with the same Ball technology that was present on the Dyson DC15 Ball and the more recent Dyson DC24 Ball. The motor has actually been moved to the inside of the ball which provides it with a lower center of gravity that makes driving the vacuum even easier. Just a twist of the wrist and you can easily glide around any piece of furniture in your home as you clean.

While the DC25 vacuum comes complete with the same accessories as its predecessors had, Dyson has done some redesigning on these tools. The crevice and dusting brush have been combined into one tool that is now referred to as the combo tool. In its normal position it acts as the crevice tool, but once extended it turns into a dusting tool.

Dyson DC25 Brushes

The best part about the DC25 Dyson Ball is that it is certified to be asthma & allergy friendly by the Asthma and Allergy foundation of America. Since this vacuum comes complete with a washable HEPA filter, vacuuming your home with the DC25 actually does double duty. While you are cleaning your floors you are actually cleaning the air as well since the HEPA filter allows less of the bad particles back into the air, making the air in your home better to breathe.

It appears as if Dyson has made some changes when it comes to this Animal model. Previous versions used to come complete with a cleaning kit as well as the mini turbine head. The Dyson DC25 Animal now comes with the mini turbine head which is great for getting all the pet fur off your furniture.

While newer models always intend to offer improved features or a newer, more streamlined design, the DC25 is not without its flaws. The Ball has a low center of gravity which makes this vacuum easy to drive but can also be quite frustrating since it will not fit under low standing furniture. Instead of being able to lay the machine nearly flat so you can vacuum way under the sofa, the telescoping wand will have to be used for this purpose.

Dyson DC25 Ball Animal

Other concerns are that the hose that comes with the machine is stiffer than it was on previous models.  This stiffness can cause some frustration for those who may have some difficulties with maneuvering hard to handle tools.  The tradeoff here is that the hose is higher quality but less flexible.

The biggest concern is if the DC25 Animal is really worth the extra money just to get the mini turbo tool.  When the Dyson models first came out, you could only get that tool by purchasing the Animal. As newer models have come to market, Dyson now offers that tool as an accessory that can be purchased separately, although the tool may cost more than the total Dyson Animal package may cost. As previously specified, both machines are identical, except for some color differences and the fact that the Animal comes complete with the power head. Make sure you take this into consideration when deciding which DC25 is the best model for you.

In conclusion, the Dyson DC25 vacuum offers some minor improvements over previous models. With its motor now located in the ball, and weighing in at less than most of its predecessors, this vacuum provides the same performance in a lighter package. It also has a much lower center of gravity.  The DC25 Ball is just another example of the consistent quality that we have come to expect from Dyson. Be sure to check out the Dyson DC25 reviews and ratings supplied by the users below or, if you’d like, please add one from your own experience.

Dyson DC25 Animal Upright

Technical Specifications

Model: DC25 All Floors Model: DC25 Animal
Category: Upright Category: Upright
Dimensions: 42.4” x 15.4” x 12.2” Dimensions: 42.4” x 15.4” x 12.2”
Weight: 16.12 lbs Weight: 16.12 lbs
Capacity: 0.31 Gallon Capacity: 0.31 Gallon
Power: 1200 Watts Power: 1200 Watts
Suction: 220 Air Watts* Suction: 220 Air Watts*
Cord Length: 24.6 ft. Cord Length: 24.6 ft.
Maximum Reach: 40.3 ft. Maximum Reach: 40.3 ft.

Product Features

Configuration: Dyson DC25 All Floors Configuration: Dyson DC25 Animal
Ball Technology Ball Technology
Root Cyclone Technology Root Cyclone Technology
Quick-draw Telescope Reach Wand Quick-draw Telescope Reach Wand
16 ft hose 16 ft hose
Certified Asthma Friendly Certified Asthma Friendly
Lifetime HEPA Filter Lifetime HEPA filter
Motorized Brush Bar Motorized Brush Bar
Hygienic, easy to empty canister Hygienic, easy to empty canister
Auto Height Adjusting Auto Height Adjusting
Onboard Accessories Onboard Accessories
Fingertip brush control Fingertip brush control
5 Year Warranty 5 Year Warranty
Mini Turbine head

* Air Watts (the power of a vacuum cleaner is best measured in airwatts or ‘suction power’; Power wattage only indicates how much electricity is actually used.)
* Cyclonic Power (this debris capture method provides constant suction that never loses power.)
* HEPA (High Efficiency Particle Arrestor)

48 Customer Reviews of “Dyson DC25 Review”

Dyson DC25 Review Review by socalsara01, February 27, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

Hey that’s a great review – and I mostly agree with your viewpoint. Although where do I begin? I am absolutely ecstatic that I do not have to buy vacuum cleaner bags anymore! The unit is fairly pricey but once you factor in no more bags purchases then it seems to balance out. we bought this unit about a month ago and after getting it unpacked and assembled (thankfully this process is pretty straightforward – have no fear) I put it to the test in every room in the house from hardwood floors, to the pavement in the garage, to all of our carpeted rooms. I emptied nasty tanglees of hair and debris from the canister 4 full times – that thing filled up so fast. I’m a bit zealous but the feeling of a having a completely clean house without changing the vacuum bags from a normal vacuum 2 to 3 times is a very good one. 🙂 I ran the ball over and over again in the common pet areas and kept collecting more hair and dirt…the Dyson DC25 kept thoroughly collecting dust even when the area appeared clean to the naked eye. Very impressive. Normally inaccessible areas are easier to clean…I’m not one to go way out of the way to move furniture before cleaning so it was nice to smoothly and easily coordinate the movements of the vacuum into these difficult areas…even under the toe kick in the kitchen! The long and the short of it is this dyson DC25 is well engineered and reasonably well built. I previously had a DC14 and really liked it too (so maybe I’m a bit biased) 🙂 but this is newer and with the agility of the ball design…in my opinion is better.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by clavel, March 2, 2009

  • 22222
  • 33333
  • 22222

This dc25 is certainly not worth $500 plus dollars! I’ve seen all the high ratings and read all the reviews about how this vacuum was supposed to pick up more than every other vacuum and how you could see the difference in the clear bin. It hasnt lived up to its reputation. I still have my old hoover steamvac for less than $200 that does a better job!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by dalez45, March 6, 2009

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 33333

First things first I really have to say that I love the dyson ball feature. It’s probably be the standard design for future vacuums. I’m not sure how much dirt I’m sucking up in my house…from what I hear people are continually emptying the dust bin multiple times before they are finally finished cleaning which I havent had to do. It’s only half full when I’m finished. Dunno if that means I havent been getting the most powerful suction potential of this machine.

My one main gripe for the dyson ball is that the cord does not seem to be long enough. I can only assume that the shorter cord cuts down on the overall weight of the vacuum. Concerning the weight it still might be a little bit on the heavy side.

From my experience, overall this Dyson ball is an outstanding cleaning machine and performs as advertised.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by MMontana, March 10, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 33333

Great overall vacuum if you can swallow the cost. Been reading and reading and reading and I finally broke down and ordered this vaccuum. After owning nothing but cheap vacs all my life decided it was time to fork out the cash. I’ve had it for a few days and I’m very happy with the amount of pet fur that is pulled from my carpet, on the stairs, and even in my garage. I have 3 cats this is exactly what I needed to clean up after them. If you can afford this (and belive me it was a tough sell to my wife during these tough economic times) you should buy it.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by fergie2u, March 17, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Holy molie you absolutely get what you pay for! Fantastic and even better if you use a bed bath and beyond 20% discount for your dyson ball purchase. Do a google search for it. Anyway, we’ve had this vacuum for months and it just performs magnificently. It’s easy to use, easy to dump the debris, easy to stow away. Honestly I havent used any of the attachments yet…havent had any reason to do it…the ball cleans everything the way it is easily (I’m a bit lazy when it comes to vaccuuming). If you can get this for less than $400 then it’s a no brainer purchase. That’s my opinion! =D

Dyson DC25 Review Review by THATguy, March 19, 2009

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Seriously, you could buy about 7 hoovers for the price of one $500 Dyson!!! Dyson may have a cool design and good product but is it REALLY worth 7 other vacuum cleaners? What’s the breakeven on that even when you factor in the vacuum cleaner bag savings? Seriously, come on.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by phil, March 31, 2009

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 33333

Worth the price – hassle-free cleaning. Once I got over paying the money and bought my Dyson Ball DC25 my house has been much cleaner and I’m not much happier. It’s easy to use, glides around corners, and is easy to clean. I love it. It’s a great product & I highly recommend it. 😀

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Terry, July 14, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

So… I have been reading the reviews here, there, and everywhere and I bought the Dyson DC25 today. It is worth the price… each dust bunny of it.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Lewis, July 24, 2009

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555

This is the best Dyson model out there.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Scott, August 18, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

I just got married and my new wife kept ranting about how she ‘had to have a dyson’. I thought it was ludicrous and she finally told me to just go buy a vacuum. So I went out and started looking. The rest of the machines on the floor were either way too heavy or much less solid. I still resisted.

Looking at Bissell and Hoover, I (around 250ish) I figured out the filter costs:

every 3 months = new hepa filter
1 year = (hepa) 4 x $12

every month = new motor filter
1 year = (motor filter) 4 x $5

1 year = $68

The 5 year filter cost is $340. The filter cost in a Dyson is $0, you don’t ever replace them, you just wash them once every three months

My $250 vacuum is now: $590 and the suction isn’t as good!

Not only that, but what’s the chance that the machine will actually last that long? I nabbed the DC25 Animal (Gotta have the turbo ma-gig for doing the cars) with the fore-mentioned 20% discount at Bed Bath and Beyond and did the test of vacuuming after having already once vacuumed and was sold immediately. The machine is fun to use, simple in it’s design, and quiet.

The turbo-gig was MUCH MUCH better than any of the competitors. Unlike the others, it never stops turning (even if you press down hard). It spins at a constant and high speed and really does help on furniture and in the car. Much better than any other turbo brush I’ve ever used. I replaced my dedicated dirt-devil (for the cars) with this machine. I’m very happy.

I do have a small complaint: When using the wand, I find that I sometimes want to shorten it, but you can’t. You can detach the wand from the hose (which is nice), but now you’ve got a much shorter reach… AND you don’t have anywhere to stash the handle while you’re doing that, it just has to float around on the floor. Considering the amount of engineering that went into the rest of the machine, that feels like a massive oversight.

Otherwise, just realize that the cost of the machine is on par with the full ownership cost of the other machine out there and take it from me, the suction really is as good as they say. To Mr. Dyson, you let your product speak for itself sir, and have converted me.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Keith Rock, August 30, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

WOW! The American people certainly can be bamboozled by advertizing! All it takes is for something to look astonishing and ya’all buy into it. This vac isn’t a darned bit better than my Bissel that only cost $165 and is a whole lot more versitile! Madison Ave execs sure went to work on this one. I wonder what Mr. Dyson will come up with next to schmooze the public with?

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Scubaguy31, September 16, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I have had the DC25 Animal for about three months now. I had a Kirgy G4 prior and although it was a good machine, it swas HEAVY and not user friendly when using the attachments. I LOVE THIS DYSON! I have four cats and makes picking up pet hair a snap. The mini turbine tool is very useful. Couple complaints is the cord length and getting under furniture. I recently bought the low floor tool and that solves that problem. Also bought the soft dusting brush which I love. Although a bit expensive, I would pay it again and more. I love this thing!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Stefanie, December 1, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

My DC28 Dyson broke down after having it just shy of 6 months. Now I am being told that I may have to pay to repair it, and the turn around on the repairs may be up to 13-14 business days! This is ridiculous! I called customer service and couldn’t even tell the rep, Larry, about my concerns for he continued to interrupt me. I am a mom, and I babysit. I also have 2 cats. Not having a vacuum for almost 3 weeks is absurd! I saved every penny I could for almost a year to buy this machine for myself, and now I wish I hadn’t! I should have gone with another brand of vacuum. I will not be recommending this machine to anyone. As for six or so of my friend’s husbands who wanted to get one for their wives for Christmas, I will be telling them that there is no reason to go with Dyson. Mainly, because I cannot recommed a product that is easily malfunctional backed by a customer service center that does not take the time to listen to the customers.

The DC28 is an amazing machine, that is if it doesn’t break down. Then, you are left to pick up everything by hand on the floors of your home. In my opinion, a cheaper vacuum that does not break down is much better than an expensive vacuum that works just shy of 6 months! My old vacuum from Big Lots lasted me over 5 years without breaking. It didn’t work near as well as the Dyson, but it kept working. The Dyson did not.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by JB, December 8, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Purchased the Dyson DC 25 animal vac. about 3 weeks ago. I’m impressed with the ease of maneuverability with this unit as well as what seems to be good vacuuming pickup. Only time will tell if the Dyson unit is worth what I payed. Two areas I consider less than comparable to other brands is the stingy length of the cord in this model making it necessary to change elect. outlets more than typical in an average size room and the lack of a headlamp.Headlamps are not considered to be a necessity but are helpful especially on wood floors and where lighting may not be bright.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Kathy Short, December 22, 2009

  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 33333

I just purchased the DC25 and for the most part I like the machine. However It would have been nice if the electrical cord was about 10 ft. longer. Also the flexible tube needs to be much longer or have another attachable hose to reach in those hard to reach places. I complained about how short the tube is and the rep that I talked to says the it has a reach of 40.3 feet. If they really knew their product, he would know that is the reach of the whole vacuum including the electrical cord, not just the tube and the wand. The specs say that the reach is 16 ft for the tube. However you better have a stretchable tape measure to get anywhere near that distance and have someone hold the vacuum so it won’t crash the whole vacuum to the floor. The pull out length I could get with the tube extended and someone holding on to the vacuum was not even 13 ft and the tube was pulled very tight. In reality the tube is way to short for general use. I do like the ball for the mobility of the unit.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Maryanne L., January 18, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

After 20 years of marriage and several upright and canister vacuums I can finally say it. I love my vacuum! I have never been able to say that before. Even when I had temporary insanity for 3 days and “owned” Kirby! I needed a new vacuum very badly and the Kirby salesman came and showed me how much dirt my previous vacuum left behind. Then I realized a kirby weighs and costs as much as a small car and I didn’t even like it. It wasn’t easy to go from an upright to using attachments. I canceled the contract for the Kirby and went out and bought a Dyson. Before the salesman picked up the Kirby, I vacuumed with the Kirby, then the Dyson and the Dyson picked up dirt that the Kirby missed, admittedly there was not much dirt left behind by the Kirby but there was some. I have had my Dyson for three months now and just finished rinsing out the filters that I will never have to replace. It only took a few minutes. Dyson even sent me an email to remind me it was time. Their customer service was very good when I called with a question. I have a long hair cat and a dog and my Dyson picks up their hair with no problems. It is lightweight and very easy to bring up and down stairs. It goes from an upright to using attachments very easily. I am very very happy I bought my Dyson and have and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good vacuum.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by DLane, January 26, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

We just purchased the DC25. Excellent piece of machinery. I found joy in just snapping the vacuum together. I finally can vacuum my staircase without having to juggle holding the vacuum in place. I find the extension hose to be plenty long enough and flexible. If you are tired of trying to find belts and filters and bags that fit your other vacuums (not to mention the cost over time) then it is time to JUST DO IT and get the Dyson. Had an Oreck it died (just after the warranty was up).It was not all that is cracked up to be. Had a Hoover blew my electric outlet out and not only did the vacuum die but I had to get an electrician to replace the outlet. Next came the Eureka bagless. Started off ok but could not find belts to fit it without having to pay shipping cost for less than a $50.00 order and the beater bar died within a year.
That’s well over $800.00 in vacuums in the last 5 years or so. Could have bought the Dyson and had some money left over.
So again I say JUST DO IT. Kohls department stores and Bed Bath and Beyond offer coupon savings and you can get it for less!!!
I am a happy girl!!!!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Just Derek, February 15, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555

This things kicks ass!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Miss M, April 19, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

If you have pets that live inside or even step inside of your house the DC25 Animal is a must. This vacuum will not leave one pet hair or spec of dirt on your carpet or floor behind. The first time I used it I was shocked at the amount of dirt and pet hairs it picked up and it’s not like i hadn’t vacuumed frequently. In fact I had a Kirby. Made me sick to think i was living with that much dirt in my house. The suction is so tremendous i think it could suction up an entire carpet. The ease is pushing it around cannot be beat-the ball thing is more than clever! I have one complaint-cord length is absurdly short. There is no reason for this oversight. I am a speech pathologist so noise level is always a concern-Dyson DC25 is not loud. Had to save along time to buy but well worth the cost.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Alan Maynard, May 18, 2010

  • 22222
  • 55555
  • 44444

Going to give you the straight scoop! Dyson has a hit with the BALL and that is where it ENDS. We are returning our 2nd Ball and the main reason is lack of suction. I don’t know about you but this is the primary reason for a vacuum cleaner. Other small issues are the flimsy construction of the hose attachments. For the record we had a DC14 before the Ball and was very pleased with its suction power. Look beyond the happy talk and test it if you can before you purchase.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Marguerite Wilbanks, June 11, 2010

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 22222

This machine is great on tile floors (but then again which vacuum is not??!!) but when it comes to carpet it is hopeless. I have a German Shepherd who changes his coat it seems every other week and this cleaner will not pick up all his hair. I go over one patch 10 – 15 times to get up 95% of the hair but it will not pick it all up. This is a solid navy deep pile carpet and is not very forgiving. This is the worst value I have EVER received. In my estimation it is false advertizing

Dyson DC25 Review Review by D.A, July 12, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Don’t buy a Dyson DC 25 Animal if you want a sweeper that will last. I bought my Dyson in October and in less than 9 months it has broken twice. Now they won’t send me a new part. The hose that holds the attachments keeps breaking. I have a full time house cat and it is necessary to vacuum daily. I use the hose with the small power head on all my furniture. The end that holds the attachments has broken twice. When you spend over $ 500.00 for a sweeper, you would think it would last longer than 9 months. I would not recommend this sweeper to anyone.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Mary Neville, August 6, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I love my Dyson! I have several (I mean a lot) of cats, and the Dyson does the job. It moves seamlessly from carpet to wood to vinyl to tile. It does not mark the tile like my old vacuum did. It sucks up the dust (we live in a valley with peat dirt everywhere…like fine flour), and it picks up the cat hair. It would probably suck up the rug. I even vacuum the front porch with it. I have had it for nearly a year, and no problems. I admit that I do not use the attachments much, as I have a tank style vacuum that I use for upholstery. What would I change? Certainly, no machine is perfect, so I would change a few things. The attachment wand is very difficult to use. It is too rigid and I can’t even do flooring with it, let alone upholstery. It is useful only for the corners of the room at ceiling height. The kickstand has feet that stick out and hit furniture and doorways if you are not very, very careful. The cord comes out low on the vacuum and gets tangled up in your feet and around the legs. There are no nasty bags to clean, only a filthy, dirty canister. It is not all that easy to dump the dirt, so don’t be fooled. It requires a container of some sort (I use a paper bag). That being said, I love my Dyson and would not trade it for any other vacuum. It cleans the floors like a dream, and I use it several times a week. It is easy to maneuver and goes under furniture that most won’t fit under. Oh, if you like the rug to look like you have just ironed it, don’t get the ball because it leaves tracks. If you want a vacuum that cleans and is not too heavy, get the ball. The other was way too heavy for me to use. Buy a Dyson…you can live with the little minor inconveniences… I do and I am really happy.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Caren, September 11, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I HATE my Dyson DC25. I am bitterly disappointed in how ridiculously difficult it is to use. The hose snags when trying to pull it out of it containment and once out one cannot use the attachments single-handed. You have to use one hand to lug the unit around and the hose with the attachment is so heavy I can hardly hold it. There is only the long tube with the attachment on the end so one has to clean holding a 4-foot long attachment from the end. It’s horribly difficult to wrangle the hose back in again to put it away. I just HATE this piece of junk. I really wanted a wonderful new vacuum so my friend bought this for me thinking he was getting the very best. HA! I don’t have the heart to tell him how awful it is. I’m just sick about it, it was a big splurge for him to spend $500 on this gift. It’ awful!!!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Carrie Funk, September 13, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I love my new DC 25! Everyone keeps complaining about the cost, but has anyone ever looked at the cost of a Kirby??? 16 years ago we bought a Kirby with all the bells and whistles ~ $1,500.00, nearly had to take out a loan!! I’m sure they are just as expensive today. So, when mine died, I knew I wanted a Dyson!
I’ve had mine 3 days and we’ve vacuumed just about every part of the house. The kids are fighting over who can use it next! With 2 cats, the canister is filling rapidly and our allergies are going to improve. Hubby is a MD and I can almost foresee him recommending this vacuum for patients with severe allergies.

I think what I love most is that my wrist does NOT feel broken when I’m done! The ergonomic design is perfect. FINALLY someone watched a woman actually vacuum and saw how we use our arm/wrist and how the machine needs to function. Thank you Mr. Dyson!!! I’m in love with your machine!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by MJ, October 15, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

WOW! Just got this vacuum only because I could get it at 65% off. Just made my mom that happiest lady on earth, no not because I got it for her but because everyone else actually wants to use it Haha! Amazing amazing amazing vacuum! Glad I was finally able to get one!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Scott, October 27, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Everyone kids me about how I research things to death before buying a product and, of course, I did that before deciding to purchase the DC25 All Floors. I am the one who has the vacuuming duties in our household and have had good machines in the past. Usually you do get what you pay for, and I found that to be true with the near top-of-the-line Hoover Wind Tunnel bagless that I have had for the last few years. Its suction was very good and the l-o-n-g hose attachment reached the entire length of the basement stairs. I liked its turbo attachment and onboard tool holder. BUT it was a BEAST to maneuver. Eventually plastic parts broke, and I found that it was poorly balanced, due to poor engineering, resulting in the rollers wearing out on one side and not the other. The unique engineering and design in the Dyson DC25 is very impressive.
As with most people, I did not want to pay the price for the Dyson, but it is not the most expensive machine out there either (I used a 20% off coupon at B,B&B). Since bringing home the DC25, I have tried it on all our floor surfaces and was shocked at what was being picked up after recently using the Hoover. Not having the inconvenient carpet height level adjustment, I was sceptical of how it would handle the shag loop carpeting in the small guest room. Yow! I had to empty the STUFFED canister twice. Scary! And, it did not bog down in the tall carpet. It continued to glide around effortlessly. I have noticed that I will actually have to slow down since it is so easy to zip around on the surfaces. I enjoy the light weight of this machine. Although it is as noisy as the Hoover when used on hard surfaces, it is much quieter on the frieze carpeting. The washable filters will be appreciated after dealing with a nasty HEPA filter on the Hoover. I used to use the shopvac to clean the paper filter after nearly every use.
What I DON’T care for about the DC25 at this point is the short hose. When the specs mentioned a telescoping wand and a reach of 14-16′, I thought that the metal tubing could extend to various lengths, but it does not. I craftily made a conversion piece so that I can use the Hoover turbo tool on the furniture. I used to use a long hose, a long tubing with a wide brush attachment for the hardwood flooring, but, now, will hopefully be happy using the Dyson as an upright on those floors. It doesn’t, however, get everywhere the brush attachment did because of the ball height.
So… now, if the Dyson holds up for at least a few years, I think I’ve made a very wise purchase.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by A li T, November 26, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I was so excited to finally get a dyson DC25! Only to be disappointed! I had to go over my carpet 5 times for it to pick up little lint or threads! My old hoover finally kicked the bucket after 10yrs! And I replaced it with this piece of light weight junk! Its going back to the store 2morrow… I feel very mis lead by the advertisements! The suction on the vacuum is awful! Please dont waste your time or money!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by bob, November 27, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I really like everything about the DC25 except the hose. The little clip that holds the hose into the wand broke and not it seems I must buy a new hose. $29
Its the little things that make a good product great and cheap connections don’t do it.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Gary Larch, November 29, 2010

  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 33333

My wife bought this DC25 around a year ago. Today….. I went and bought a $90.00 Hoover…. swept the same carpet I had just swept with the Dyson….. and filled 1/3 of a tank with dirt! It is a $500.00 joke!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Mark Machut, December 12, 2010

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 22222

This unit is not worth the money. It has little suction. When I first used it I thought the motor was running backward. The unit design is clumsy with many parts that get hooked on the cord, furniture, and corner. The brush barely touches the carpet so no brush action is seen. The attachments are unuseable due to their weird design.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Jennifer Paleski, December 28, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Dyson emailed me and asked for a review, which I gave and found that it was not published. Maybe its because I think the dyson 25 is not worth the price. Hard to use, heavy, clumsy even with the ball. Wanted a bagless, but could have gotten one much cheaper with the same results. I’m constantly tripping on the cord due to where it is connected. Hose is so stiff and not long enough to do stairs. When it dies, which probably won’t take long, I will buy a hoover or eureka. Buyer beware!!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Corey Ackerman, January 8, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555

I just got the Dyson DC25 for christmas and love it. I have a Golden Retriever that sheds alot and tend to have to vacuum everyday. I used to replace the bag on my Hoover Windtunnel about once per month. After seeing how much dirt and hair i’m getting in the cannister of my Dyson I’m guessing it would fill a vacuum bag in at least 2 weeks. I’m also disapointed in the cord length and also it doesnt seem to pick the pile of my carpet up as well as the hoover did. I tried using it putting some weight on the head of it and picked the pile right back up. I think if they make the head a little heavier, or the brushes longer this would solve the problem.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by KarenDeake, February 8, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I got my new Dyson Animal DC25 a couple of weeks ago.I love it! Got it from QVC so got a lot of extra brushes for free plus free S&H. Also chose the easy pay plan which made it possible for me to afford it. Over 40 years of marriage I have tried a LOT of cleaners. This works better than any I have ever had. Suction is awesome. It picks up more stuff than I ever dreamed was in my carpets. I am not bothered by the length of the cord either. I mean…come on . How long does it take to unplug a cord and replug it in. hahaha 4 seconds tops. I love the attachments and find them to be very well made. It’s quite lightweight and quiet. I am 63 and I can handle it with ease, even up and down stairs. I found the price to be reasonable. Other vacuums can go 3 times the price. My latest cleaner was a Hoover. Picked up almost nothing and never got the lint. The Dyson gets it all. So far, I love it.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by gail branham, February 15, 2011

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111

I was really disappointed in the Dyson. My Eureka windtunnel had finally died and I decided to really step up to what I thought would be the ultimate vacuum. It is very heavy and if you use the hose at al, you will struggle as the hose is short and not flexible. I have hard wood floors and wanted to use the hose for under the bed, etc. I found out that after paying $400+ I had to pay an additional $50 for an adapter to use for “under” furniture. Even with the attachment, it is really hard to use the hose. Not worth the investment. I would return if I could!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Rob Tracy, March 15, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I will never own another vacuum cleaner. I was amazed at the dirt it picked up that I thought our old unit was getting.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Michelle Sartori, April 8, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

All I can say is OMG!!! This is one amazing vacuum. I was shocked at all the stuff it picked up. I will NEVER own another brand of vacuum.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Frank S, April 21, 2011

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 22222

I was duped into thinking this company was a good company and I’m sorry I fell for it. Doesn’t anybody stand behind thier products anymore? My Dyson 25 has screws falling out of it and because I used it to vacume my office (10×12)one time they are voiding my warrenty! Come on guys, get your screwdriver out and put a screw back into your vacume rather than your customers. Here is an idea…how about you make a product that lives up to your claims? I will never ever buy from this company again. I can’t wait to put this on Ebay and get rid of it! Dyson, you should be ashamed of yourself. Just my humble opinion.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Mary Guthrie, April 26, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I owned a DC15 which I loved. It finally wore out and I purchased the DC25 all floor model. It does a wonderful job on all my floors – carpet, tile and vinyl. Its easier to use and much lighter than my old one. However there is one big problem for me. I have very large rooms. The DC 15 had a long cord and I could easily vac the whole house from one plug. A big benefit for me as I have back problems. My new DC 25 has a very short cord and I can’t even vac my bedroom/bathroom without moving the plug. My kitchen/dining room is open concept and over 25 feet long with large furniture. It takes two moves of the plug to get around the areas furniture and big island. This is a big disappointment and I hope in the future models Dyson will got back to the longer cord. Six more feet would have been prefect. One plug in instead of 6 moves saves me pain and time.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Wendy Woodruff, April 27, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have had this vacuum for quite awhile and am extremely happy with it. It does wonderful work and is easy to use. It is a much quicker task and my carpet has never looked better!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by laura, June 18, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

this vacuum is over rated. i traded in a $300 simplicity to get about $150 off the $600 price and I wish i still had the simplicity. the pivoting does not work because i have to go back and forth over an area multiple times to pick up small particles. the hose feature no longer works because it won’t come apart any longer. the only thing good about this vac this that its bagless but i could have got a bagless for less than $300. i would never recommend a Dyson product.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Cathy Pietrzak, June 26, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I have had this vacuum for about a year now. I do not like this machine. It is very heavy and not easy to use. I have arthritis and is is very hard for me to use. I do not recommend this vacuum for anyone who is over 50. I prefer my Oreck vacuum which is very light weight and has the same power as the Dyson.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Norma, July 16, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

The Dyson DC 25 is absolutely the best sweeper I’ve ever owned, and I have owned Eureka, Hoover, Dirt Devil and a Kirby which I was led to believe was the best. WRONG. I have had my Dyson for a week, 2 people & 1 dog live in our house and all 3 are gone all day at work so nobody is really home to make the carpet dirty. I have been running my Dyson every day for a week because every time I do I get a full tank of dirt. I cannot believe what the Kirby didn’t pick up and I am really furious when I think of the cost of the Kirby over the Dyson and the better quality I received in the Dyson. It has the ball and maneuvers all over very easy, it’s very lightweight and not as noisy as the typical sweepers and I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. It goes right from the carpet to the tile floors and I don’t need to drag and store attachments, they are all in the handle and finally a man designed something that a woman can appreciate. The Kirby and the hard to store and use attachments are getting the boot to the curb. I can’t imagine owning anything else ever again except for another Dyson. THANK YOU DYSON.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Isabella, July 16, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

We bought Dyson 25 one year and half ago. The brush broke down after few uses. I called the help center, worked in a while. But, right now, TOTALLY NOT TURNING. I tried to call the center, but within 2 hours, couldn’t get through. I am still waiting them to call me back. Not worth the money!!!!!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Sky Bleuy, July 16, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

DC25: Only 2 spots for the 5 attachments. Drives me crazy!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by jstanthrbrkinthwall, August 5, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Man, this thing SUCKS! I love it! The absolute best vacuum ever!

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Debbie, August 15, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444

I love that this vacuum can transition from my wood floors to carpet with ease. I have a new home so I am not sure about the suction quality, but it’s so easy to move around the whole home. I got mine at Kohls with a 30% off coupon and earned Kohls cash on top of it! Cost me $350 and I used my Kohls cash and earned more Kohls cash. So shop around before you buy. Wouldn’t spend $550 but defininately worth the money I paid at Kohls.

Dyson DC25 Review Review by Eve, October 10, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I am very happy with the DC25. It is lightweight and easy to maneuver, as advertised. It picks up the dirt really well and is so easy to empty. I appreciate that I don’t have to use disposable bags, as I am environmentally-conscious.

Write a Review of Dyson DC25 Review

Suction Power
Maneuverability
Light Weight