Suction Power3.083.083.083.083.08
Maneuverability4.084.084.084.084.08
Light Weight4.54.54.54.54.5

Dyson DC24 Review

Dyson DC24 Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson DC24 Reviews and Ratings

With the array of dual models in each family which Dyson currently offers, it seems as if someone was left behind when the Dyson DC24 ball was created. It is only available in the only the Dyson All Floors model, which may leave some pet owners feeling a little slighted and asking, “What about us?” There appears to be no specific reason to explain why a comparable Dyson Animal was not created, but it may just be the fact that Dyson was not able to pack all the Animal functionality into a much smaller package.



While the Dyson DC24 vacuum is much smaller and lighter than its siblings, it still packs quite a punch, making it great for apartment dwellers. Weighing less than 12 pounds, the DC24 is light enough for anyone to carry around the apartment, or small house with ease. Its size also makes is great for storage, especially when space may be at a premium to start with. Just don’t let its small stature fool you. It still comes complete with many of the functions that exist on its larger siblings.

The Dyson DC24 upright vacuum comes equipped with the same Root Cyclone technology that was present on its predecessors. The only difference between this machine and the other Dyson uprights that came before it is the fact that the suction power is almost half that of previous models. Guess this is to be expected since the entire system is smaller than any other model, so it is nearly impossible to put the same suction capacity into a smaller package. Dyson would need to completely re-design its technology in order for its power to fit into a smaller package, and why break what works?

Dyson DC24 All Floors

Although smaller, the Dyson DC24 all floors comes complete with the clear, polycarbonate dust bin that has been seen on previous models. The bin on the DC24 of course will hold less than other models, but its operation is still the same. With the push of a button, the “trap door” opens, releasing all its contents into the trash.

This machine also includes auto height adjustment which makes transitioning from carpets to hard floors a breeze. No need for the user to make any adjustments the DC24 does it for you.  It also comes complete with the reversible wand which can be used for cleaning those hard to reach spots. Just disassemble the handle assembly and re-assemble in the accessory mode, and you are ready to attack all those ugly spider webs you could never reach by hand.

The DC24 also comes complete with a lifetime HEPA filter, and this model, like its predecessors is also certified by the Asthma & Allergy Association which makes it great for allergy suffers. It also comes complete with Dyson’s Ball technology which makes the DC24 easy to drive, allowing you to clean every last corner you were unable to get to with your old vacuum.

Dyson DC24 Reversible Wand

Unlike its predecessors, the DC24 upright comes with a unique accessory. Due to the machines smaller size, there is a limited amount of storage space on top of the canister which requires some tool changes. This vacuum comes with the combination accessory tool that is not found on any other Dyson model. The tool can either act as a crevice tool or can be extended to function as a dusting brush, eliminating the need for extra space to store two separate tools.

Since the only difference between the Dyson Ball DC24 and previous Dyson All Floors models is its size, you may be wondering why it’s worth the extra cash when compared to the more affordable models provided by a wide array of competitors.  The DC24’s biggest advantage is its size. Since it is smaller and lighter than any other Dyson model, it is perfect for apartment dwellers or those who live in smaller houses that may be short on storage space.  It is also much lighter than any of its predecessors, which makes carrying it up and down stairs a breeze. This is a plus for those who may struggle with larger machines or have medical conditions that prevent them from carrying more than a certain weight.

The Dyson DC24, like is predecessor the Dyson DC15, also contains the “ball” technology which makes maneuvering the vacuum around furniture and into tight spaces a breeze. This is great for homes where space is at a premium and you just don’t have the extra space to “swing” your vacuum into those tight corners.

Dyson DC24 All Floors

While the DC24 ball may appear to be the DC15 ball, only in a smaller package, this is not exactly the case. The DC24 upright provides almost half the suction power of its bigger brother. This lack of true power is its biggest flaw, especially when suction is Dyson’s biggest selling point. Allergy suffers may find that their symptoms still linger, since the machine will not be able suck out the same amount of dust mites and dander that its bigger brother could. This is not to say that the vacuum does not do a good job of cleaning, it’s just not as strong as some of its predecessors which prevents it from performing the true, deep down clean, that you have come to expect from Dyson.

Its size is also a factor when it comes to dirt storage. Since the clear bin is much smaller than that on its predecessors, you may find yourself having to empty the bin a lot more often. Bin capacity may be reached quite fast, especially if you are doing a lot of rug vacuuming. One needs to decide if its smaller size is really worth the extra effort, unless you are really strapped for storage space.

Pet owners may want to steer clear of this model. Although previous All Floors models do quite well at picking up pet fur, the DC24’s lower sucking power may result in pet fur being left behind. Unless you own a hairless cat, or non-shedding dog, this is not the vacuum for you and your pet friendly home.

Dyson DC24 Bin

Its smaller stature can also cause some problems when it comes to cleaning. Its hose is shorter than that included with its bigger siblings which can cause some issues when it comes to cleaning stairs. While other Dyson models can sit on the floor, leaving you two hands to clean with, the DC24 may need to be carried, and balanced precariously on a lower step. While it is true this model weighs less than its predecessors, it will still be quite painful to watch your expensive new “toy” tumble to the bottom of the stairs because it slipped out of your hands.

In conclusion, the Dyson DC24 Ball is great for those who lack storage space in their home. Pet owners should look to dedicated Animal models for optimal performance where pet hair is concerned. Although it does lack the true suction power that is present on its predecessors, it can still provide a thorough clean, just not the deep down clean that you have come to expect from Dyson.  Be sure to check out the Dyson DC24 reviews and ratings supplied by the users below or, if you’d like, please add one from your own experience.

Technical Specifications

Model: DC24 All Floors
Category: Upright
Dimensions: 43.3” x 11.0” x 13.7”
Weight: 11.65 lbs
Capacity: 0.19 Gallon
Power: 650 Watts
Suction: 115 Air Watts*
Cord Length: 20 ft.
Maximum Reach: 28.72 ft.

Product Features

Configuration: Dyson DC24 All Floors
Root Cyclone Technology
Ball Technology
Ultra-lightweight and compact
Reversible wand
Combo Tool
Motorized brushbar
Durable Construction
Collapsible Handle
Trigger Quick Empty
Lifetime Filters
Warranty: 5 years parts & labor
HEPA filtration technology

* Air Watts (the power of a vacuum cleaner is best measured in airwatts or ‘suction power’; Power wattage only indicates how much electricity is actually used.)
* Cyclonic Power (this debris capture method provides constant suction that never loses power.)
* HEPA (High Efficiency Particle Arrestor)

14 Customer Reviews of “Dyson DC24 Review”

Dyson DC24 Review Review by staceee, February 27, 2009

  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 55555

Hi, I enjoyed perusing your review but I disagree a bit. 🙂 My boyfriend has a dc24 ball type vacuum at his apartment. He and I have both used it and although it’s light it really does do a good job cleaning up the cat dander and other dirt. I admit that havent used the other dysons so this one could very well have less suction power but it still works well.

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Anonymous, February 27, 2009

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 55555

I think the editor is correct. I took mine back while it was stilll under warranty and picked up a DC25. It was about $150 more but I figure I’m going to have this thing for years and suction is my #1 priorty. I really dont mind the extra weight.

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Vicky55, March 19, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Oh this is the best! my dyson dc24 ball is small and light weight, a bit more feminine and easier to use than the dc25 ball. 🙂 I researched all of the ball dyson’s extensively (and some of the miele vacuums as well) before settling on my dc24. It cleans just as well as the bigger vacs but is lighter, smaller, and more stowable. I havent really noticed any less suction power with this one…but maybe there is. I just know that it cleans all the floors well and it’s a cinch to put away. 🙂

Dyson DC24 Review Review by LarryLazy, April 13, 2009

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555

OMG! This thing is the best! The dyson dc24 animal ball is easy to use, light as a feather, and easy to clean, move around furniture & obstacles, and I think a pretty friggin cool design! My only gripe would be the length of cord – I think it’s probably best suited for people living in condos or apartments. The power cord can reach everything in my condo when I plug it into a central location.

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Anonymous, May 4, 2009

  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 55555

Top notch! Highly recommended! I love my Dyson!

Dyson DC24 Review Review by anthony, October 18, 2009

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555

i agree with people i have 3 dysons as i have a 3 story house i have dc 15 for down stairs dc24 for 2nd floor and dc25 at top part i think they are all fantastic but i have to say it isnt the most powerful machine but it does a wonderful job i have to say this is a brilliant product

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Val, August 29, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

The animal version has NOT impressed me for the price that I paid for this product. “a waste of my money” would be my first feeling about this overrated vacuum. The cord is way too short, the bin is entirely too small for a model that is supposed to be accommodating with a house with pets. The attachments are awkward. The power head is virtually worthless. It has chewed up an area rug that I have had for 9 years (and still in perfect condition) until I used this vacuum on it. The vacuum lacks in the department of edging ability on hard surface floors and carpet. I would not recommend to others. Save your money!!!

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Mike, January 9, 2011

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

I purchased a Dyson DC24 and I have never seen so unhappy with a purchase in my life. It’s fine for a large nailed down carpet but forget about trying to vacuum a throw rug with it or trying to use the attachments. $500 and you can’t only NOT adjust the height but you can’t even adjust the suction so anything small you try to vacuum end up in a ball. The attachments are totally worthless. To begin with you start out with a 3ft. steel pipe you can’t get behind objects or around anything and the hose is so stiff that if you try to wander more than about 3 ft. the whole vacuum tips over. They can’t even spend another 50 cents on the product to give you a cord long enough that you don’t have to move the plug from room to room. They have one heck of an advertising campaign but the product sucks in more ways than one. Worst investment of my life. I still have to have ANOTHER vacuum if I want to vacuum and area rug or something that requires an attachment.

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Denise, February 6, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I purchased the Dyson DC24 in October of 2010, along with new carpeting in our ranch-style house. I now feel that I can write an honest review. I have to say that purchasing the Dyson was a very wise decision. I was reluctant to purchase it because of the much higher price, but in the long run, I am happy with its performance. My family and I downsized in square footage of our home. The rooms and furniture are much closer together and this little Dyson is just perfect. The performance on the carpeting is like no other vaccum I had before. The design of the ball is truly wonderful for this little house of ours. I would strongly recommend purchasing one if you have a small house/apartment. I have only 2 negative items to say about this vacuum. In my opinion, the onboard attachments are very hard to work with in tight/small areas. Even reaching high up to dust crown molding is not easy. I also feel that the performance on ceramic title is not as wonderful as its performance on carpeting. I will purchase another vacuum for our ceramic floors. Overall, very happy with my purchase!

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Leslie, April 11, 2011

  • 11111
  • 44444
  • 44444

Well, for $400 I thought I would get a fabulous machine, but this Dyson has been a big disappointment. Bought in 2009, it has now developed cracks in the suction hoses and parts are falling off regularly. While it appeared to pick up alot of dirt and hair(before it had cracks), it has never picked up the pile of my carpet so it never quite looks clean. The floor/carpet brush feature switches on and off randomly. And, yes, the cord is short! I will be asking for my money back since it hasn’t even made it three years!

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Laurence C. Harmon, April 26, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

This vacuum is the PERFECT product for anyone who has bought into Dyson’s schtick and believes that it’s the holy grail in vacuum cleaners. Here’s a dose of reality: IT’S MADE MOSTLY OUT OF PLASTIC! It’s likely to spend its final days huddled with dozens of others in a repair shop without the possibility of getting replacement parts. I’m astounded, actually, that this machine turned out to be one of the worst purchases I’ve ever made. A TOTAL, ABSOLUTE piece of garbage. BE WARNED!

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Jean Fawthrop, May 4, 2011

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 55555

I bought a DC24 shortly after my husband died, because my DC04 was too heavy to carry upstairs. I like the light weight, and the size makes it easy to store, but otherwise it has been a big disappointment. I find getting the filter in and out of the ball very difficult with arthritic fingers, and the short length and rigidity of the tubes make it difficult to reach awkward places. The suction is poor compared with the DC04 and I don’t find the ball makes manoeuvring any easier. I will buy another (full-size) Dyson as I think generally they are good machines and the after-sales service is excellent, but will keep my DC24 for the lighter upstairs cleaning. Would not recommend the DC24 to anyone.

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Andrea Asquith, May 19, 2011

  • 22222
  • 44444
  • 55555

This is the worst cleaner I have ever used in my life. I have had 5 different dyson cleaners and loved them all. My last one was a slimline,which I wanted to buy again as I broke mine. They dont do it and apparently have replaced it with DC24 animal. So with all faith I was happy to purchase this one at £330.
It is the biggest waste of money that I have ever spent. The cord is ridiculous, it wont do any room in my house with out re plugging it in, which requires bending down, once to uplug and then to replug, I used to be able to whizz round almost 3 rooms with my other one.
The drum is pathetic, it semi cleans one rug before I have to empty it. I had to stop, bend down and empty this cleaner 4 times to just do the downstairs in my house,instead of justthe once. I have tiled floors so only have 3 rugs and to have to empty it 4 times is just not on, its messy, dirty and uncomfortable.
Becasue the drum is so small it is also very low, as is the on/off button, again a bend down to turn it on and off, which you have to do an awful lot of.
The the hose is a joke!You cant just pull it out and suck bits up quickly, then replace it and carry on.You have to pull it to bits and refix it together. And then to carry on you have to pull it to bits again, fix it back up and then replace it before you can carry on, on top of that it is also very low to be messing about with.
Because the cord is ridiculously short it pulls out of the socket all the time about 3 times each room, so you again,have to keep returning to pick it up from the floor and plug it back in again. On average I had to do this about 5 times each room, instead of once. This is very frustrating and becomes stressful.Then on the last time, this being my first days use the plug pulled out of the socket and as I have to use and english adapter it fell on the floor and smashed.
As for suction, it isant a patch on any of my old ones.It doesnt feel clean, it feels like I will have to do it all agian at tea-time.I could go 2 days before having to clean up again.
Iam more than disapointed in this machine, I have had to take ibuprophen after using it and I am quite angry. All the design features that Mr Dyson first invented have been by- passed. All that seems to be important now is weight with the focus on how tiny these machines can made.
When you want to clean up properly the most important thing is suction and ease of use, not size and weight. This machine has neither and I just hope that this review saves someone time and money.
I shall be seeking advice to get a refund as quickly as possible.

Dyson DC24 Review Review by Monika M, August 5, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I just love this little Dyson. I had used several different brands of sweepers in the past, but Dyson is truly superior. It is very easy to maneuver and light in weight. The suction Power
amazed me, it made my carpets look almost new. By the way, we have two pets in the house and therefore need to sweep rather often. My compliments to Dyson.

Write a Review of Dyson DC24 Review

Suction Power
Maneuverability
Light Weight