Suction Power3.113.113.113.113.11
Maneuverability2.672.672.672.672.67
Light Weight2.332.332.332.332.33

Dyson DC21 Review

Dyson DC21 Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson DC21 Reviews and Ratings

With Dyson’s great success in the upright vacuum cleaner market, they have added a new type of vacuum to their lineup in the form of the Dyson DC21 Stowaway canister. The Dyson DC21 canister vacuum is currently only available in one model. It wears the same safety yellow color found on its Dyson All Floors siblings, but instead of being just another All Floors model in the lineup, the DC21 adds yet another name to the family of the form of the Dyson Stowaway.



While the DC21 offers many of the features that can be found on its upright siblings, Dyson has added some other features that are unique only to its canister vacuum cleaner. The best feature is its size. Most canister vacuums are relatively compact, but when it comes to storage, there never seems to be enough room for the hose as well as all the other accessories that come along with it. Dyson has resolved this problem by designing a canister vacuum that neatly folds up into a convenient package. The power head attachment has its own storage location at the back of the canister, the hose wraps nicely around the canisters dirt bin and the wand has its own storage slot on the side of the dirt bin. All other included accessories, except for the bare floor attachment, have their own home on the canister, making storage a breeze.  The canister can also be stored in an upright position, on the off chance you are just a few inches short in your closet. The Dyson DC21 Stowaway can also automatically wind up its power cord. While this feature is quite common on some of the higher end canister vacuums, this is the first Dyson model that can do the cord winding for you.

The Dyson DC21 canister vacuum is effortless to drive. The power head can get into the tightest of areas and is sure to help you bring every last dust bunny to its demise. The canister is also easy to maneuver around all your furniture, making cleaning your entire home a breeze. Turning the motorized brush bar on and off is also a breeze with the DC21. Dyson has added a foot pedal switch that allow you to turn the brush bar off an on with a push of your foot. There is no need to stoop over and push a button to change modes. Just step on the pedal and you can keep right on cleaning without missing a beat.

Dyson DC21 Stowaway

Other cleaning features on the DC21 are similar to those of its upright siblings. This vacuum includes the same Root Cyclone Technology that has become a standard in all Dyson models. The vacuum also includes a motorized brushbar, which when combined with Dyson’s powerful suction, can provide a deep down clean to all your carpeted surfaces which is sure to bring every last dust mite to its demise.

This vacuum also offers the user the ability to turn off the brushbar with the push of a button. With this feature you can easily turn the brushbar off when you transition to your hard floors, keeping your floors safe from damage that can be caused by a spinning bar. Transitioning between floor types is also simple with the Dyson DC21 Stowaway. Like its predecessors, it can automatically adjust the height of the brush head. No changes are required by the operator, the vacuum does the work for you.

The DC21 also comes complete with a wide array of tools that can help you clean every last corner of your home.  The vacuum comes complete with a 13 inch motorized power brush, a 12 inch bare floor tool, a crevice tool, a dusting brush, an upholstery tool, as well as a 12 foot hose. Each tool, excluding the bare floor tool, has its own home on the canister, keeping all tools at your fingertips.

Dyson DC21 Stowaway

The best feature of the Dyson DC21 vacuum cleaner is that it is certified asthma friendly by the Asthma and Allergy Foundation. With a lifetime HEPA filter, the vacuum sucks up every last dust particle while expelling nothing but clean air.

While the DC21 Stowaway delivers the quality that you have come to expect from Dyson, it is not without its flaws.  This vacuum comes in near the top in terms of weight when compared to its upright vacuum siblings. Although it is smaller than most competitor canisters on the market, it weighs about 23 pounds which makes it quite cumbersome to carry, especially up and down stairs.

The handle on the wand has a gunlike grip, which can make extended use of the vacuum tiresome to the user after a while. It would have been nice if Dyson had utilized a handle similar to that of the ergonomic handle that exists on some of its upright models.

Dyson DC21 Canister Vacuum Cleaner

The cord on the Dyson DC21 canister is also much shorter than we have become accustomed to on other Dyson models. This can make cleaning more of a pain because you may need to unplug the vacuum and plug it in again at another location in order to completely clean one room. While this may not be an issue for most users, it can be quite a pain, especially if you are pressed for time.

The biggest flaw to the DC21 Stowaway vacuum is its price. Like with all other Dyson models, the DC21 sits near the top of the price range when compared to other canister vacuums. The average vacuum buyer may be turned off by the price, especially when you can purchase more than one of a competitors vacuum for the price of one Dyson. But as the saying always goes, you do get what you pay for, and you do not want to skimp on quality when it comes to keeping your home clean.

In conclusion, the DC21 helps Dyson build on its reputation of delivering a quality product. With a wide array of features, this vacuum delivers the suction power and cleaning performance that you have come to expect from Dyson vacuums. If you have longed to own a Dyson, but are accustomed to the style of a canister vacuum, and not ready to transition to an upright style, the Dyson DC21 Stowaway provides the best of both worlds. If you prefer the functionality of a canister with the powerful suction of a Dyson, then the DC21 may be the way to go.  Be sure to check out the Dyson DC21 reviews and ratings supplied by the users below or, if you’d like, please add one from your own experience.

Dyson DC21 Motorized BrushbarTechnical Specifications

Model: DC21 Stowaway
Category: Canister
Dimensions: 14.09” x 11.17” x 17.7”
Weight: 23.02 lbs
Capacity: 0.44 Gallon
Power: 1200 Watts
Suction: 220 Air Watts*
Cord Length: 16.4 ft.
Maximum Reach: 28.4 ft.

Product Features

Configuration: Dyson DC21 Stowaway
Root Cyclone Technology
Glides around furniture
Motorized brushbar
12 foot hose
Wraps to store
Onboard tool storage
Foot operated brush control
Lifetime Filters
Warranty: 5 years parts & labor
HEPA filtration technology
Hard floor tool

* Air Watts (the power of a vacuum cleaner is best measured in airwatts or ‘suction power’; Power wattage only indicates how much electricity is actually used.)
* Cyclonic Power (this debris capture method provides constant suction that never loses power.)
* HEPA (High Efficiency Particle Arrestor)

15 Customer Reviews of “Dyson DC21 Review”

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Anonymous, March 5, 2009

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444

eah its a nice vacuum. It does a good job cleaning the floors and furniture and it fits well in my closet by the door. ciao

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Anonymous, March 16, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Can even buy this vaccum in the states?

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Todd, December 5, 2009

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

The Dyson Stowaway D21 is the worst vacuum cleaner I’ve ever used. The cord is to short, hose wraps around itself and is top heavy causing it to tip over. Save your money and buy something else, this vacuum stinks.

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Melissa, June 3, 2010

  • 44444
  • 22222
  • 33333

I have had the stowaway for about one year. I have 3 children and 3 pets. (two cats and one dog)I am also a clean freek. It does an AMAZING job of cleaning up pet hair. After doing research, my husband and I decided on this model because of the size and it’s rated ability to clean pet hair. It was also rated high for both hardwood floors and area rugs.

Everything people complain about is true. The cord is rediculously short. The hose is made of a bad material. It “kinks” far too easily, like a cheap garden hose. Unlike any other canister vaccum I’ve owned, this one will not stand upright, which is very annoying. After one year of careful, frequent use, the hose has broken in 3 places, It has broken at every joint, where it meets the wand, where it connects to a second portion of hose and where the hose meets the canister! It must be the type of plastic. I have never had a hose crack with any other vacuum. It is a poorly designed product & a misuse of materials. I called Dyson and they are sending a replacement hose. I wonder how long this one will last? I can’t be the only customer with this problem. It does an excellent job of cleaning when the hose isn’t broken, so I like that aspect of the product, but all the unusual flaws are a real pain!

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Tom, July 24, 2010

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 33333

Works like a charm but now on hold to order second wand hose in two years. Hose rips open in sme spot. It will cost $129.OO to replace once the warranty has expired!

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Zeljko, August 1, 2010

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333

I’ve had this model for less than a year.
It works great when it works. The hose is horrible as the hose plastic breaks too easily. I have had 2 hoses in the year that I have had it and they both cracked within 6 months of use. I have never had this problem with a vaccum before. Dyson needs to re-engineer the hose and offer lifetime replacement of the defective hose until they can manufacturer a decent hose.
The chord is short but I can live with that.
For prospective purchasers, I would not recommend purchasing a Dyson until they resolve the hose issue.

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Karin & David, August 30, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

We have had this model for only one year, yet the hose has torn already. I can tell that said HOSE is made of some very cheap material as it should not break with our minimual usage!

The replacement hose is $129 on the Dyson site. This is why I could NOT recommend this unit until the hose is re-engineered or they provide a better replacement warranty.

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Cari, October 6, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I have had this model for 9 months and it is already in the shop because it simply stopped working. To get these vacuums repaired, you call Dyson and they tell you where the nearest repair facility is located (in my case 9 miles away), you take it to them, they diagnose the issue and then you wait 2 weeks for Dyson to send out the repair part to the repair facility. I cannot believe how poor the service life is on this vacuum. It needs a new power cord. I have owned many vacuums over the years and none has gone out on me in 9 months! I would never buy one again. By the way, I also have a handheld that I bought 11 months ago, which needs a new power pack and Dyson told me 11 days ago that they would send a new power pack in 5-7 days. This is all completely unacceptable! Never again Dyson.

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Brian, November 18, 2010

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 22222

Purhased in 2007. The crevase tool never was tight enough to stay in the wand, the cord is way too short, now the power head cuts-out every other second when vacuuming on carpet. I have purcahsed Kenmores until I bought this one. Each of the Knemores lasted 10 to 15 years this POS costs two times as much and last 3 years

Dyson DC21 Review Review by JANICE, January 19, 2011

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111

I BOUGHT my second dyson a couple of months ago, you thought i would have known better. The first one went to the trash because after getting 3 new heads it never worked the same again. I thought improvements would have been made but the same thing is starting all over again, just waiting for another new head for a vacuum that is 6 months old. I think 400 dollars is alot for a vacuum that lasts only a year or less. This will be my last one. Thing twice better spending your hard earned money.

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Nan, March 9, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

The head is too big to fit in tight spots, under furniture. Major design flaw. Very heavy machine so a pain using it on the stairs. Does a good job cleaning a carpet but a terrible job on hard wood or tile. Awful at getting small objects, like rice, off the kitchen floor. For all the noise it makes, you’d think it would have a better suction. I have a Kenmore that is a million times better than this Dyson. I’m very disappointed in this machine, I was so looking forward to using it – considering the very impressive commercials – and the reality is a huge let-down.

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Casey, August 4, 2011

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 22222

Bought my Dyson 1/18/09. Cord is annoyingly short as previously stated. I too have a hose that ripped in two places (currently taped). I couldn’t find my receipt so I didn’t try to get a replacement hose but it only lasted a year or less. Good suction – that’s the only good thing I have to say about it. Sears canister is far superior design but suction isn’t as good. Buy a dyson again – never – I’ll go back to Kenmore.

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Doug Jones, September 9, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Suction is OK, Hose is way to short. You have to pick up the vacuum when vacuuming shelves. vacuum flips over very easy. gets hung up on its own cord gets. caught on cornerscausing you to have to drag it.

It is by far the worst vacuum I have ever owned. It does not come with a floor tool

Dyson DC21 Review Review by mostly satisfied in ct., October 3, 2011

  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 22222

Also had the hose break with minimal usage(two adults) Received a new one with no charge when I complained that it must be a design flaw. Replacement came quickly as promised but service consultant denied that other people also reported problem with the hose breaking. Will monitor new hose for cracks and will be certain to demand another replacement at no cost if it breaks again. when purschased I expected this to be the last vacuum I ever purschased and do not intend to struggle with a taped up hose.

Dyson DC21 Review Review by Susan, October 18, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Wow, in reading the reviews, I was scratching my head. I have had my DC21 for four years now, and there is nothing on it that has broken, nor has it lost any suction. Yep, the cord is too short, and I wish ot rolled a bit easier, but this thing could suck chrome off the bumper of a 57 Chevy. I might add that I have four dogs (and I foster, which means I have up to six on occasion), a very messy parrot and a pre-teen boy. If this vac can stand up to all that, after four years, I’m impressed and still am very happy with its performance.

Write a Review of Dyson DC21 Review

Suction Power
Maneuverability
Light Weight