Suction Power3.593.593.593.593.59
Maneuverability3.063.063.063.063.06
Light Weight2.762.762.762.762.76

Dyson DC17 Review

Dyson DC17 Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson DC17 Reviews and Ratings

Dyson has added yet another member to its repertoire in the form of the model DC17 upright vacuum. Unlike its predecessors which come in either safety yellow or purple, this model changes the color scheme a bit with its offering of the Dyson DC17 Asthma & Allergy model and the Dyson DC17 Absolute Animal model. The DC17 Asthma version wears mostly grey with the cyclone cover tinted a lovely shade of teal while the cyclone cover on the DC17 Animal is a deep crystalline purple. It appears as if Dyson took a step back from is standard color scheme with this model since neither really stands out from the lot and you need to make sure you keep your eyes peeled otherwise you may walk right by the one that you are looking for.



While each model is unique in its own way, they both have a lot in common. The DC17 sports an upgraded version of the Dyson Root Cyclone technology in the form of Level 3 Root Cyclone technology. As if it was almost impossible for Dyson to improve on the suction power that it provides in all its models, they have delivered an even better version of its best suction power. The level 3 version provides an even further separation of dust and dirt particles when compared to the performance of its predecessors. Suction power will remain constant, resulting in the demise of every last dust mite or pet dander particle that may have taken up residence in your carpet.

The Dyson DC17 also makes stairs and those hard to reach areas a breeze to clean. With 16 feet of hose, cleaning the stairs is no longer the most dreaded chore in your cleaning regime. Unlike with competitor’s vacuums, the DC17 stays on the ground floor while you climb to the top of the stairs, nozzle in hand. The machine also comes complete with a telescoping reach wand which is perfect for sucking up every last kitty fur tumbleweed that may be cowering in the corner, or the ancient spider web you just could never reach with your old vacuum.

Dyson DC17 Animal

Those that have a wide range of surfaces will be quite pleased with the various DC17 uprights. The vacuum can easily transition between hardwoods and carpet without requiring any adjustments to be made by the operator. This guarantees you will suck up every last furball or dust mite without a change in suction performance. This machine also offers a Brush Control Switch which allows the operator to turn off the beater bar with just a quick press of a button. No more worries about scratching your expensive hardwood floors. The DC17 will keep everything sparkling clean while in the best possible shape at the same time.

Both machines also come with three on board tools which are perfect for those areas that are just too small for the main vacuum to get to. Whether you need to clean some dust bunnies out of the corners of the couch, or need to vacuum the dust off your precious electronics the DC17 offers just the right tools to make cleaning a breeze.

The DC17 Allergy or Animal, like all of Dyson’s other models, is great for allergy suffers. With its lifetime HEPA filter and a certification by the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America, this vacuum is sure to improve the quality of air in your home. Combine that with a washable filter than can retain particles down to 0.1 micron’s in size and the DC17 is sure to improve the quality of life in your home.

Dyson DC17 Cyclone

Now you may be asking yourself, if both models are already certified by the Asthma and Allergy Foundation, then why should I spend the money for the Dyson DC17 Asthma & Allergy vacuum? While it is true that the Absolute Animal and the Asthma & Allergy model share a lot in common, the Asthma & Allergy model comes with three extra tools that you would normally have to buy a la carte with any other model. This Dyson comes complete with a soft dusting brush, mattress tool and flexible crevice tool. These tools allow the allergy suffer to use the sucking power of the Dyson to effectively clean the areas of the home that can be most problematic for the allergy sufferer.

The Absolute Animal on the other hand comes with the same add-ons like the Dyson Animal’s that came before it. It comes equipped with the Animal Mini Turbine Head, Low Reach Floor Accessory and the Carpet care kit, all of which are geared towards helping the pet owner keep their home in perfect shape. No matter how many pets they may own.

While the DC17, like the rest of the Dyson DC line, delivers great performance with great cleaning power, it is not without its own flaws. Both models come complete with add-on tools, but there is no place on the vacuum itself to store them. Tools will need to find their home in a closet or somewhere similar, and the owner will need to remember when they last saw their tools, which can be quite a pain at times. Especially when you need to the last minute couch de-furring before the in-laws arrive.

Dyson DC17 Uprights

The DC17 model is still quite heavy for a vacuum. Weighing in at nearly 20 lbs, the machine can be quite cumbersome for the lady or the children of the house to lug up and down stairs. Even though it comes complete with an ergonomic handle, there is still a lot of heft to throw around.

One other flaw can actually be attributed to the vacuums best asset. Houses with long haired females will become quite aware of this issue. Since the Dyson DC17 vacuum, like its predecessors, provides such outstanding suction power, the occasional stray long hair will quickly wrap itself around the beater bar without ever making it to the dirt canister. This can be easily remedied if you don’t mind getting your hands a little dirty. All you will need is a good pair of scissors and some time to extricate the hair from around the beater bar and then you will be good to go.

In conclusion, the Dyson DC17 provides quality cleaning power all in a handy package. While the Asthma & Allergy model comes complete with extra tools that can easily be purchased as add-on’s for any of Dyson’s other models, you will need to decide for yourself if it’s really worth the money. Both deliver great power and performance that is sure to keep your home in great shape, no matter how chaotic your life may be. Be sure to check out the Dyson DC17 reviews and ratings supplied by the users below or, if you’d like, please add one from your own experience.

Dyson DC17 Bin

Technical Specifications

Model: DC17 Asthma & Allergy Model: DC17 Absolute Animal
Category: Upright Category: Upright
Dimensions: 43.5” x 13.2” x 16.7” Dimensions: 43.5” x 13.2” x 16.7”
Weight: 20.56 lbs Weight: 20.56 lbs
Capacity: 0.66 Gallon Capacity: 0.66 Gallon
Power: 1200 Watts Power: 1200 Watts
Suction: 220 Air Watts* Suction: 220 Air Watts*
Cord Length: 35 ft. Cord Length: 35 ft.
Maximum Reach: 51 ft. Maximum Reach: 51 ft.

Product Features

Configuration: Dyson DC17Asthma & Allergy Configuration: Dyson DC17 Absolute Animal
Level 3 Root Cyclone Technology Level 3 Root Cyclone Technology
Stair Cleaning Quick Draw Hose Stair Cleaning Quick Draw Hose
Air Flow Tools Air Flow Tools
Motorized Beaterbar Motorized Beaterbar
Brush Control Brush Control
Durable Construction Durable Construction
16 foot hose 16 foot hose
Trigger Quick Empty Trigger Quick Empty
Lifetime Filters Lifetime Filters
Warranty: 5 years Warranty: 5 years
Edge Cleaning Whiskers Edge Cleaning Whiskers
HEPA filtration technology HEPA filtration technology
Soft Dusting Brush Animal Turbo Tool
Mattress Tool Carpet Care Kit
Flexible Crevice Tool Low Reach Floor Tool
Animal Turbo Tool
Carpet Care Kit
Low Reach Floor Tool

* Air Watts (the power of a vacuum cleaner is best measured in airwatts or ‘suction power’; Power wattage only indicates how much electricity is actually used.)
* Cyclonic Power (this debris capture method provides constant suction that never loses power.)
* HEPA (High Efficiency Particle Arrestor)

29 Customer Reviews of “Dyson DC17 Review”

Dyson DC17 Review Review by muttersly, February 25, 2009

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I also checked out the dc14 at costco when I was looking at this one. As I said in my other post I ended up paying about $150 more for this dc17 allergy but I think it was worth it for the air filtration…life’s too short breathe nasty air right? Anyway, I’d say performance-wise it’s outstanding in about every way.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by angela, February 26, 2009

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333

It seems that everywhere I look a read a review from someone about how absolutely great these vacuums are. You’re think Dyson was running for office! Anyway I’ve had mine for about 9 months and I’d have to say I’m not overly impressed for the price. It vacuums dirt into a clear bin – that’s nice – but most of my friends vacuums do the same and appear to collect the same amount. I’ve a trouble with hair getting tangled in the rotating head almost every time I used it. As for the allergies it’s hard to tell what impace the vacuum has. My allergies still come and go (I think it’s a lot to ask for a vacuum to take the pain away from allergy sufferers). On a positive note my dyson dc17 still runs pretty much like the day that I bought it so that’s a good thing. Overall I’d say average to above average performance.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Sandra, March 9, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

The DC17 Animal works fantastic on Shag carpet. I’ve tried the DC 14 model and was very dissapointed.It did not work on my shag carpet. I’m very happy with my machine and recommend it.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Lisa, June 10, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I must say, I have never owned a nastier, dirtier vacuum than this dyson. Not only is it broke again, but they can’t supply the parts for the service center to fix it because of a system software change?!! It constantly blows dust and is a mess to empty everytime I use it. After trying a friends Sebo vacuum, I am much more impressed with the filtration and bag system it has. That will be my next vacuum, and I might get it sooner if they can’t fix the dyson.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Danny, June 24, 2009

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 11111

We’ve had a dyson dc17 animal for a couple of years and have been fairly happy although there are issues with the hose. We sucked up some carpet and broke a belt. My fault, time for a new belt. Went to buy a belt locally and was told that Dyson changed the design of the belt and that the replacement belt was wider. Since the belt was wider, the beater bar also had to be replaced. Instead of spending $40 for the pair I decided to try my luck with customer service.
I called May 28 and complained where I was eventually told that they would replace the belt and beater bar no problem, no cost to me. It would ship out May 29 and be to me in 7-10 business days via USPS. I waited until June 11 and called to find out where the part was. I was told it had been backordered but would ship out on June 12 and be there in 7-10 business days. I called June 24 and was told that it had been shipped on the 23rd and they gave me a tracking number. I asked for a manager at that point and got voicemail so I left a message.
I heard from the manager about 2 hours later and was told it shipped out on June 24th, not the 23rd. I communicated with Ms. Stanberry from Dyson that I had been lied to multiple times and why should I believe her about the most recent ship date? She said she was sorry I received misinformation but that it had been shipped. I asked her to cancel that shipment and overnight me the part which she said was impossible. For a $600 vacuum you would think customer service could actually mail a part. I wouldn’t buy another Dyson if I were you unless you plan on it never having any problems.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Riley, August 2, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Wow, I’d really like to win one of these…

Dyson DC17 Review Review by MPA, August 11, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Unfortunately I have already returned the Dyson DC17 Animal to Sears for a
full refund. Purchased it 8/09/09 and returned it 8/11/09. I was extremely
frustrated by two things.1) the pet attachment would not secure to the hose.
The connections at the end of the hose and at the end of the pet attachment
were not compatible. You could attach the pet brush, but it would not stay
in place and kept falling off. That’ too bad, because the pet attachment
really worked well, but I was not willing to fight trying to keep the
attachment on for many years to come, When we took it back to Sears they
told us that this is an issue for the Dyson . They stated that we could buy
the the new pet attachment and it would secure to the hose. Are you kidding
me? Why doesn’t Dyson ensure that they are selling updated pet attchments
with their vaccums. I feel that is totally unacceptable for a $500.00
vacuum. 2) I did not like all the rows that the machine left on the carpet.
With each swipe of the vaccum it left four rows . I expect that a vacuum
will make a row on each of it’s outside edges, but this made my carpet look
like I was getting ready to plant seeds. I can vaccum so that the rows
don’t show when I’m done with my 10 year old Oreck. Al l you see is the
pretty nap of the carpet standing up. Not with the Dyson. No matter how hard
I tried to make the rows dissapear I could not. My husband flipped it
over. On the plate that keeps the brush in place there were 3 plastic bars
across the brush the interupted the even distribution of the brush,
resulting in these rows . It think the Dyson is an awesome machine, but
these two problems would have made me reget keeping the machine. I read
every on line I could find, and I was already to have a dream vacuum.
Didn’t work out that way.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Dave, January 13, 2010

  • 44444
  • 22222
  • 22222

The dc17 does a pretty good job. Like others have said you need to clean the brush every time it’s used. I also need to remove the brush and the belt (which is kind of a pita) just about everytime because the hair gets in between the gear and belt and starts making a loud grinding noise. Don’t know if I would buy another one for that kind of money. The warranty is good.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by grumpy, April 27, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

i bought the dc17 after my dc07 died, at first it was great but then had alot of problems with the belt breaking, this on a vacuum that advertises no belts! then had to have it cleaned and replace filters, both of them because they were so full of dirt, and the ad says no filters! it was nasty to dump and clean and exspensive to maintain, never again! i took it back to the store and after complaining to manager for 30min. they finally gave me a refund, i will never buy another vacuum advertised on tv cause i was dissapointed in my oreck as well. does anyone sell a good vacuum without all the hype?

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Ginny, May 11, 2010

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222

The DC17 is the most expensive and worst vacuum cleaner that I have ever purchased! It constantly loses suction. The Geek Squad tried unsuccessfully to repair it twice. I have shipped it back to Dyson three times and each time they tell me it is fixed but it still loses suction. I will never purchase another Dyson product.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Tmac, June 19, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 22222

You guys are crazy! This is by far the best vacuum I have ever owned. Every time I vacuum, I am amazed and disgusted with how dirty my carpet gets. Maybe those of you who have had problems just are unlucky, maybe you didn’t read all the instructions and care tips. I’ve owned this vacuum for more than 5 years and haven’t had one problem yet, when this one dies I will be getting another Dyson.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Gordon Middleton, August 1, 2010

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 11111

What a piece of junk! In the 3 years I have owned this vacuum I have had to take it in for repairs 3 times-all electrical issues. It now sits in the corner collecting dust on the outside only because the dealer where I bought it said he quit selling and repairing Dysons because he was tired of customer complaints. I got some bit of satisfaction when a friend said they were going to go buy a Dyson and I talked them into buying another brand.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Trish, September 11, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I own the DC15 ball vac and I am in the cleaning business. Dyson vacs are the best. I have to say this vac is the most sensitve to buildup on the brush roll. Any of the others are fabulous. Key to making them last is emptying the cannister each time its full, cleaning the filter and making sure nothing is clogged. I have used one of the original Dyson Animal and I knew something was wrong but couldn’t figure out the lack of noise. Meanwhile the vac. still had great suction. There was a pen stuck in a short part of the hose that i didn’t check. Well I am still using this vac many years later. the owners just replaced the brush and belt. great vac and my personal dyso the ball is awesome!

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Barb, September 12, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

The DC17 is a worthless piece of crap! I purchased on 12/8/2007, at a cost of $582.99, it was defective so I took it back to exchange for a working; one-charged $32.17 to exchange. Shortly after I started using it, the vacuum starting spewing (the dirt it was picking up) all over the room. You could see on the vacuum where the seals met the dirt coming out. Dyson set a new rubber seal piece; worked good for about 2-3 months. I put in Shaw top of the line carpet throughout the house 5/2008. The wonderful Dyson started spewing the dirt all over again; it also was destroying my carpet, which I wasn’t aware of until later. Service people at the Chicago office are about as worthless as the vacuum. Sent the best pictures I could, showing how the Dyson was destroying my $3000.00 new carpeting. Sent the sweeper to Chicago because it stunk,(couldn’t get the smell out) + it spewed the dirt out quicker than it would pick it up. It took approximately 10/2009 – 8/26/2010 just to get a Supervisor’s name; then I was told nothing is wrong with the sweeper and the carpet wasn’t damaged!! Needless to say, Dyson along with their employees are worthless!!

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Molfetta-Maria, October 16, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

We have a DC”Animal”#17 model…we love it but we are in need of service.
We think the plug is failing…

Dyson DC17 Review Review by patti deschaine, November 20, 2010

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

I have been using the Dyson for a year or so and it still has suction. I do have a couple of complaints though. The cord is made cheaply, is brittle and cracks easily. It is too bad to have a quality unit. Also customer service at Dyson is not impressive. I have called twice. Once I was promised a replacement part that never arrived and once I complained about the cord and was told I could take it for service 40 miles away and it MIGHT be covered.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by William Mauro, November 22, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

I bought my Dyson DC17 Animal in 2007 and the machine has performed excellent until recently it was lossing suction. I contacted customer service at Dyson and they were able to trouble shoot the problem over the phone and sent the replacment part within three days and the problem was fixed without me ever having to leave the house. I was impressed with the customer service I recevied from this company and would recommend Dyson to any one who has dogs and wants a hair free house.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Anonymous, January 24, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 33333

i got a dc17 and i love

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Leslie, January 27, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I have had my Dyson for about 5 years and nothing I have used before has gotten the dog hair and dust/dirt out of my carpets like this machine. But I have two issues. 1)the pet hair attachment doesn’t stay on, so I am constantly having to put it back into place…a real pain and 2) I cannot figure out how to vacuum under my bed, the head is too large & won’t fit, I end up having to lay on the floor and use the wand, not fun or easy or effective…I use my Hoover for this…hmmm cmon Dyson figure this out!

Dyson DC17 Review Review by unhappy with dyson, February 2, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

This is the worst vacuum I have ever owned! It has been repaired 3 times. Roller constantly needs to be cleaned to be able to use otherwise it makes a horrible sound! I will never buy another dyson! Where are the stars for breaks all the time…that would be 5 stars.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by MinTexas, February 17, 2011

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 22222

I fell for the Dyson sales pitch and saved up to buy this one.
I have had this model vacuum for 4 yrs. For the first year I loved it. Lately every time I have to use it I cringe. I have 4 pets and quite a bit of fur. The wand is impossible to remove unless I unscrew the bottom curve part and pull the hose out from the bottom to release it from being stuck. It’s like it’s vacuum packed (pun intended)! So, every time I want to use the wand I have to spend 5 minutes taking it apart. Since I have a bad back this is not fun and totally inconvenient.
I called Dyson and talked to a rep. He says that for this model, the only recommendation he could give was that I take it apart every time it gets stuck.
The upright is great on carpets. It does a good job until every other time I vacuum the belt has become clogged with fur. Then I have to spend almost an hour with some tweezers sitting on the floor cleaning out the area around the belt because there is no easy way to access this area.
The Dyson rep I spoke with says that they have corrected this on the newer models. Doesn’t help me much.
I wrote an e-mail to Dyson suggesting they might like to offer a recall on this model. Never heard back from anyone.
The filter traps fur inside it which smells. I cut around the edge halfway so I can get the filter clean when I wash it and then flip the fabric back over to re-seal it as best as possible. It is not a lifetime filter. Be prepared to replace it every 6 months.
Also the brush attachment doesn’t stay on – you have to hold it on when vacuuming.
Quite frankly I am annoyed that I decided on buying Dyson because it just puts me in a bad mood every time I have to vacuum and I can’t afford a new machine at the moment.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Backdraft, March 31, 2011

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 33333

We have had the D17 Animal for about 4 years. It has worked great with no real issues. I sucked up a piece of mulch and broke the belt. Called customer service and they sent one in two days. I recently noticed that the beater brush was getting noisy and called customer service. They sent a new beater brush-no questions-no hassle. It seems they go out of their way to accommodate you, which they should at the cost of the vacuum cleaner. I have not had another brand last this well. I will definitely buy another Dyson.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Serena, May 1, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

well i must say .. a Dyson is worth every penny!! i have a 2 yr old dc 17… i just bought a Shark Lift away a few hours ago for the upstairs only.. i used the Shark in the living room.. cleaned each path 2 times.. then went over it 1 time with my 2 yr old Dyson , and the Dyson still pulled out stuff!!!!… i couldnt believe it !!!!! it just goes to show they are definately worth the money11111

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Ann, May 14, 2011

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111

If I made a list of the ten things I regret buying, the DC 17 would be listed in all 10 spaces. I bought it because of the sales hype on tv and the bare floor attachments, which of course were sold seperately. They don’t stay on unless you push them as far as you can and then it’s a struggle getting them off. The hose is so stiff it’s hard to maneuver. I knew I should have brought it back immediately but thought I just needed to get used it. It will probably be going in my next garage sale.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Dawn Hardwick, August 6, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I liked my Dyson trememdously after I first bought it. It was wonderful on pet hair. However, I have had difficulty with it shutting off while vaccuuming. I have bought several filters only to have them plug up even though I wash them thoroughly every week and you are only supposed to have to wash them every 6 months. It was still under warranty and so I called and they had me take it to a Sears Repair shop. They looked it over and told me it had been “overly used” Really? It’s a vaccuum. I have a husband and 5 sons and live in the country in a home with white carpets. We have horses and livestock and pets. I’m great about emptying it and changing filters. It’s not like I just let it get full and abuse it. Even though it’s under warranty Sears refuses to fix it and wanted to charge me 265$ for the repair part. If they had fixed it, I would remain with Dyson and eventually buy another. However, now, I will let everyone know how Dyson does not stand behind their warranty and will never buy another one.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by donna, August 9, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I have a Dyson and I wish I had never bought it. It is very heavy and when you try to use the hose it is like a wrestling match i hate this product I would not recomend this to anyone and i go out of my way to let people know what a cumbersome and heavy machine this is.

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Dawn Hardwick, September 7, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I posted a review on August 6, 2011. Since that time Dyson has arranged a pick up for my vaccuum and have assured me it is under warranty and they WILL repair it hooray!!! They have been wonderful. I have since discovered that it is Sears that is refusing to stand behind the Dyson warranty. I should have called Dyson back before giving a negative report. I did not realize that it was Sears that was refusing to repair it and not Dyson themselves. They have sent me a box and a shipping label and have the vaccuum now. They have been courteous and very willing to stand behind their vaccuum 100%. I am very pleased! And I have always love my Dyson for control of pet hair! Yeah!! Its being fixed. So very happy:)

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Anonymous, September 28, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 33333

I sold a perfectly good Kirby (because of it’s weight and I have stairs) and bought a Dyson DC-17 in 2007. I LOVED it the first few months, since then, it has been a “freakin’ disaster!!! First, the belt broke, I called Customer Service and was told, “Our belts are unbreakable” (REALLY???) I was holding the broken belt in my hand! They did send me new belt AND brush bar (no charge)because the belt size had changed in the few months I had it. Since that time I deal with it on a daily basis!!!It clogs up within 5-10 minutes of using it and shuts off. I clean and/or replace filters every month and I only have 1 short haired dog and just my husband and I in our household and vacuum at LEAST twice a week due to hubby’s severe allergies and I am a nurse and like CLEAN! We have to take the air compressor and blow out the whole damn unit to get it to work again when it shuts down. I don’t even let it get to half of the max fill line before I empty the canister. I wish I had my Kirby back!!!

Dyson DC17 Review Review by Jack Hardin, September 30, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Not only do I think it’s a very expensive piece of junk, the Dyson approved service center they had to take it for repair said it was far inferior to a Meile and proved it by demonstration. It is now again broken and this time I will donate it to Goodwill.
I have managed hotels for 40+ years and have been through hundreds & hundreds of vacuums. The housekeeper who cleans my home has been a housekeeping supervisor of a 760-room hotel that I managed, so she is even more experienced than me. I was happy to provide her what I thought was the Rolls Royce of vacuums. We tried very hard to work with it.
It only works on hard surface floors, not carpet. It ripped the tassels off my Persian rug and then spun a hole that burned the carpet in the shape of the roller. I had to purchase a cheap Dirt Devil for the carpets and it works just fine, so I’ll get another one.
All in all, the Dyson DC17 Animal Vacuum was a $549.00 + tax mistake and I will warn all that will listen to stay away from Dyson. My rating in all categories zero!

Write a Review of Dyson DC17 Review

Suction Power
Maneuverability
Light Weight