Suction Power4.264.264.264.264.26
Maneuverability3.213.213.213.213.21
Light Weight3.213.213.213.213.21

Dyson DC14 Review

Dyson DC14 Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson DC14 Reviews and Ratings

With the wide variety of Dyson DC models that are currently available on the market, as well as the retired models that can still be purchased new from a wide range of retailers, you may be wondering why the Dyson DC14 offers the best bang for your buck. The DC14, like many of Dyson’s other models is available in both the All floors model and the Animal. Colors are the same as on all other Dyson models, so deciding which one is right for you will quickly become more difficult than finding it in the store.



The DC14 is an upgrade from Dyson’s first DC07, and while they look almost identical, you may be wondering why the DC14 is worth considering. Both the Dyson DC14 All Floors model and the Dyson DC14 Animal are a tad bit smaller and lighter than their predecessors. The canister is also a little shorter than that of the DC07, but the DC14’s canister is a little fatter so it is still able to hold the same amount of dirt and fuzz as its predecessor. You will be able to do just as much vacuuming as you could before without having to worry about more trips to empty the bin. The DC14 is also shorter than its predecessor, but this and any of the other sizes changes will hardly be noticeable to the average user, unless you decide to do an in depth comparison of the two, and the size difference may only become evident when they are sitting side by side. Combine these minor size changes with the DC14’s built in ergonomic handle and the machine becomes much easier to carry, especially up and down stairs, which may just make cleaning more of a joy than the chore it may currently be.

This model also offers the same Root Cyclone technology that was present on the DC07.  This machine maintains constant suction power which pulls the dust and dirt out of carpets and other surfaces as its predecessor did. Using the DC14 on a floor that was just cleaned with a competitor ends up causing amazement and disgust in the average vacuum user who thinks their floor has been well cleaned by a competitor’s machine, only to find out that the Dyson picked up more “stuff” that they didn’t realize was left behind.

DC14 Uprights

For homeowners who may have a house full of hardwood and carpet floors and need a vacuum that can easily transition between the two, the DC14 will automatically adjust its height between carpets and hard floors with no interaction required from the user. This vacuum also allows users the ability to turn off the beater bar so they can protect their delicate hardwood floors or any other delicate floor surface from scratches while still using Dyson’s sucking power. This can put an end to every last cat hair “tumbleweed” that may be floating around on the floor.

The DC14 also offers a 17 foot hose which makes cleaning the stairs a breeze. For those of us who have ever precariously balanced their upright on the stair below them in an effort to clean the carpets on their stairs, you know just as well as I how difficult and frustrating this can be. That is why this 17 foot hose is such a godsend. The machine can stay firmly planted on the floor at the bottom of the stairs while only you and the hose climb to the top. With Dyson’s sucking power, you are sure to get a great clean every time.

One of the best features of the Dyson DC14 is that it is Asthma and Allergy Foundation certified, making it great for those who suffer from some of the most common allergies. Both models come complete with the Lifetime HEPA filter, which may just be the reprieve fluffy or spot needs to stay in the house, while saving the families allergy sufferer from breaking into sneezing fits every time fluffy comes to say hi.

DC14 All Floors

The animal contains all the features of the above listed All Floors model, but it does come with a few features that are primarily geared towards the pet friendly home. The Dyson DC14 Animal comes complete with the Animal Turbo tool, which is a powered handheld wonder that annihilates any pet fur that crosses its path. Whether it be Fluffy’s favorite chair or Spot’s favorite corner of the couch, your furniture will be as fur free as the day it was delivered from the store. There is also the included Low Reach Floor Tool which makes cleaning up the cat or dog fur bunnies from under the bed or any other location that they accumulate and are not within easy reach of the vacuum.

One feature that is also unique only to the Animal is the carpet care kit it comes packaged with. The DC14 comes with Zorb powder and Dysolv spray which work great at removing a wide range of stains from your rugs, helping them to look newer, longer.

While the DC14 delivers in the same power you would expect from Dyson, it is not without its flaws. One of the most common gripes about the DC14, and any of the other Dyson models is its cost. While you could, of course, buy a few of the lesser priced models for the price of one Dyson, but as the saying always goes, you do in fact get what you pay for. Quality rarely comes cheap.

DC14 Animal

One other issue with the DC14 – similar to that of its predecessor – is the possible need to have to stick your hand in the dirt receptacle to clear the air intake of attached kitty fur or rug fuzz. This may be a more consistent issue with the Animal over the All Floors model since pet owners are sure to have to suck up more pet hair on a daily basis than the average homeowner. For those who don’t mind getting their hands dirty, this is a flaw that is quite acceptable because it is proof positive of how strong Dyson’s sucking power really is.

In conclusion, the Dyson DC14 provides upgraded features that make it a better bet than its predecessor. The All Floors model is great for the average homeowner, while the Animal is great for the house full of furry four-legged “kids”. Whether you love pets or just love keeping a perfectly clean home, the Dyson DC14 is sure to suck up everything you throw at it while asking for more.  Be sure to check out the Dyson DC14 reviews and ratings supplied by the users below or, if you’d like, please add one from your own experience.

Dyson DC14 Bin

Technical Specifications

Model: DC14 All Floors Model: DC14 Animal
Category: Upright Category: Upright
Dimensions: 44.86” x 14.0” x 13.38” Dimensions: 44.86” x 14.0” x 13.38”
Weight: 18.56 lbs Weight: 18.56 lbs
Capacity: 0.71 Gallon Capacity: 0.71 Gallon
Power: constant Power: constant
Suction: 250 Air Watts* Suction: 250 Air Watts*
Cord Length: 35.4 ft. Cord Length: 35.4 ft.
Maximum Reach: 52.4 ft. Maximum Reach: 52.4 ft.

Product Features

Configuration: Dyson DC14 All Floors Configuration: Dyson DC14 Animal
Animal Turbo Tool
Carpet Care Kit
Low Reach Floor Tool
Stair Cleaning Quick Draw Hose Stair Cleaning Quick Draw Hose
Air Flow Tools Air Flow Tools
Brush Control Brush Control
Glides into Awkward Spaces Glides into Awkward Spaces
Durable Construction Durable Construction
17 foot hose 17 foot hose
Trigger Quick Empty Trigger Quick Empty
Lifetime Filters Lifetime Filters
Warranty: 5 years Warranty: 5 years
Edge Cleaning Whiskers Edge Cleaning Whiskers
Bagless Cyclonic Power Bagless Cyclonic Power
HEPA filtration technology HEPA filtration technology

* Air Watts (the power of a vacuum cleaner is best measured in airwatts or ‘suction power’; Power wattage only indicates how much electricity is actually used.)
* Cyclonic Power (this debris capture method provides constant suction that never loses power.)
* HEPA (High Efficiency Particle Arrestor)

33 Customer Reviews of “Dyson DC14 Review”

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Anonymous, February 12, 2009

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Thorough cleaning. Never had a vacuum work so well. It is light and easy to use. I’ve read that there are other dyson models like the dc17 that may have better air filter while you’re vacuuming but all in all I’m satisfied with this one – it kicks ass.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by melanie, February 14, 2009

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

I love this vacuum. I’ve owned it for over two years now and it has not given me a bit of trouble. It makes vacuuming fast & painless.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Tom, February 20, 2009

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

my dyson dc14 is a mixed blessing. It has absolutely awesome suction power and – for the most part – it does not tend to lose suction. It really does a number my wood floors but I do have problems on our extremely thick shaggish (I know but I love it) carpet in the basement. Other than that it’s the cat’s meow. The 2 year warranty covers maintenance – this is pretty much unheard of in the vacuum manufacturing industry for a non-professional model in the $400 price range. Anyway for my 2 cents I highly recommend it. 😉

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Anonymous, February 25, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Save your money and buy a hoover powermax vacuum for about $100 bucks. You will get much more value for your money.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Sandra, March 9, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

The DC14 is a strong machine. Works great on regular carpet and floors but is terrible on shag carpet. I would not recommend this model for shag carpets. The DC17 Animal works fantastic on Shag carpet. I’m very happy with my machine.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Michelle, May 4, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Oh my!!! Just got my DC14 today….Love it, Love it, Love it. Granted I’ve only had it 1 day, but, I vacuumed my entire house. I was so impressed. I read several of the reviews on all of the models and choose the DC14. I had back surgery 3 yrs ago,the weight of the DC14 is lighter than any of my other vacuums. We have 4 children and a dog, oh yeah and I work full-time plus a part-time job. In short I have alot of house to clean and not always alot of time. My husband was no so impressed with the price at first, but, he knows, happy wife-happy life.
Great buy! Hope to try the wand and tools tomorrow.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Cassie, May 6, 2009

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 22222

I am very disappointed in the Dyson DC14. I went ahead and spent the $500 after reading numerous reviews. First of all, the suction is not nearly as great as advertised. It is very hard to move the vacuum on my large area rugs. I have to use a lot of strength to push it. It is quite heavy, but I wouldn’t mind if the suction were actually great. Also, the front of the vacuum does not get close to the furniture, so there is a line of dirt/hair over an inch wide around the dressers, etc. It looks very bad. You can’t go under tables very far, either. I just had higher expectations for the money.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Tamara, May 9, 2009

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 22222

I agree with Cassie. While I purchased mine at Costco for around $400 after tax it really doesnt live up to all the hype. The suction is average, the weight is a little on the heavy side, and the maneuverability is average. Maybe I should have purchased the Dyson Ball 25.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Andy Foley, May 19, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

DO not BUY a Dyson! I used a DYSON DC14 on my carpet and it literally chewed the carpet and left “hair” all over my loop carpet and places where I stopped to move the cord it chewed down into the carpet and left ragged marks the width and length of the beater bar. I have addressed this issue with DYSON and the BBB and they are not willing to stand behind the product. If you value your floor DO NOT BUY A DYSON!!! Oh and DYSON’s response was their vacuums tend to be agressive on some types of flooring. Maybe they should say that in their advertising?

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Karen Swearingen, August 28, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Forget this model!!! I purchased one around Christmas last year – the clutch went out within two weeks. Took it back for a replacement – it also went out. I thought “third time is a charm” so got another one. It lasted about six months before the clutch went out. Since there are only two adults in our household, I only vacuumed about once a week, so it wasn’t overuse that caused the problem.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by J.W.S., December 2, 2009

  • 44444
  • 22222
  • 22222

Save your money and buy something else. Mine is less than a year old. 2 carpeted rooms and one hallway seem to be too much for this Dyson. There are only 2 adults and 1 dog in our household. It doesn’t loose suction, but it does “suck.” The beater brush is shot and after 30 minutes on hold to speak to a customer service rep, I gave up. A previous reviewer states that the 2 year warranty covers maintenance, yah sure it does, how long do you have to stay on hold for that to happen?

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Brandi, January 18, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Definitely save your money, DON’T BUY!!! This model “ratchets” so loudly everytime I use it on my 2 area rugs my oldest son is afraid and starts crying when I start it up. I’m a working mom with 2 small children and can’t get them out of the house to use the machine. This is my second try with the vacuum, I took the first one back and exchanged for a new one after multiple attempts to stop the ratcheting. Service rep asked if I had buber, looped, or an area carpet and then said the suction was so strong that it was sucking it up in the beater bar. He said it only works on commercially installed carpet fastened to the floor and then suggested the purchase of their $500 model. I told him my in-laws have commercially installed carpet and the vacuum still make the horrible noise and he said he was sorry. What $380 doesn’t add up to decent vacuum-I’m extremely disappointed with the DC14.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by scott dunahoo, February 25, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

I love the Dc14 i have had it for a year now. I like it so much i vacuum more then once daily. On light cheap rugs it makes a noise but if you pu a foot on the edge and hold it down it cleans it and does a great job. My 2 year old loves it also and so does everyone who has used it. Since i got mine my whole family has got one and they all love them two its well worth the 400 dollars i feel like that a deal for such a great machine.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Bob Armstrong, March 3, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

Very few times in my life have I found a product that exceeds my expectations but this Dyson has done so. I have heard that it is a great vacuum etc..etc… so I decided to buy one. I got it about 2 hours ago. I unpacked it put it together and tested it in our bedroom. We have two pugs and a cat and pet hair has always been an issue. I made a few passes next to each side of the bed and could not believe what came out of the carpet. This is an incredible advance in vacuums and I have had all the others Kirby/Hoover and so on. None even come close! It would be like comparing a wash board to a present day frontload washer. “Yes..it’s that much better than anything else on the market and no I don’t work for the company” I’m sold and will never purchase anything but a Dyson. Thanks for an awesome product!

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Matthew Hubbell, April 17, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

Very innovative design; obviously outside the box thinking. Exceeded my expectations upon first inspection and works as advertised. Only just purchased today, but I am very impressed. Well worth the money so far.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Karen S., May 16, 2010

  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 22222

I would never recommend this vacuum. In fact, I’ve dreaded vacumming more than ever with this model vacuum. Once you use the hard floor attachment, you will hate it. The hard floor attachment brush head does not lock into the end of the wand, so it detaches every time you push it against something, and you have to bend down & re-attach. VERY annoying. Also, the handle does not lock into position, so it slides down the wand all the way down to the floor, and you may as well crawl on your hands and knees. The only positive thing about it is that it does have suction power. The customer service response is- “thanks, we’ll take that into consideration.” Well, for as much as I paid for it, how about a discount on a vacuum that DOES lock? That would have kept me as a customer, possibly.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Crystal, August 27, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

I have had the original Dyson animal for about 4 or 5 years. I was very hesitant to spend so much on a vacuum, but I have severe allergies (dust mites) and two very large dogs (100lbs or more). Not a good combination, but I wasn’t willing to give up my dogs and I rent so I can’t get rid of the carpet. I got a great deal at Bed, Bath & Beyond using their 20% off coupon, and I love my Dyson! It does such a good job picking up all the pet hair, even after all these years. It is easy to dump the dust cup without touching it, so it saves me from an allergy attack. I also use it to vacuum the tile floor in the kitchen before I mop, so I was able to get rid of my broom. I do the whole house with the Dyson. I bought the duster attachment and it works awesome for blinds, bookshelves, and lampshades. The pet hair tool is also unbeatable! Some people have complained about the plastic parts breaking or not working properly, but I haven’t had any problems and I would say that I am very hard on vacuums, so I have been impressed. I can’t say enough about it – I love it!

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Sarah, September 1, 2010

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111

This vacuum has been the worst purchase we could have made. I have three small children and two dogs. I thought this would be perfect but it doesn’t pick up anything! I can’t use the hose attachment because it is nearly impossible to pull out and replace. It has been serviced once already (we’ve had it two years) because the hose collapsed and would not work at all. I can not get the edges of the carpets along the walls or furniture, I could use the attachment for that if I could get it out but since I can’t it’s useless. I would not recommend this vacuum to my worst enemy, buy one for $40. I also have a small handheld Dyson that has a battery life of (no lie) 5 minutes! Seriously?!? This company is a rip-off.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Rose Russo, October 27, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

To whom it may concern-
I purchased a Dyson DC14 about 1-1/2 yrs ago – I am having problems with this product. The vaccuum is not picking up and receiving into the canister – the brush on the botton of the vaccuum is not spinning. Not sure where to go to get any answers – No phone number is available. Please help – my rugs need cleaning very badly
Thank you

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Chico bill, November 14, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

All bagless fall in the same category junk filters cost way more than bags and cleaning them is never as good as a new bag

Dyson DC14 Review Review by olga, November 23, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I bought Dysoin DC14 3 months ago at Costco and I am having problems with it. I afraid even to start it on: it makes horrible noise. I don’t know what to do with it: I used it only 2 times.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Ryan, November 28, 2010

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111

I have been meaning to write a review so that other unsuspecting people (who might be taken by reading too many favorable reviews of the Dyson), think hard before spending their money on this product. Seriously, look elsewhere.
It does have the problems mentioned by others above, but there are also some very serious design issues. It cannot fit underneath a standard height kick board on kitchen cabinets. It is so bulky there are very few furnishings it can actually go under. It has so many “hook points” on the machine that it will grab hanging plants, curtains, cords you name it, in an effort to look cool, they made a machine that has excessive protrusions all around. The power cord has to be the cheapest money could buy, it tangles twist and is such a nuisance that it drive one crazy. The 17′ hose does not allow you to vacuum stairs, the machine does not stay put, it tips over all the time.
There is No joy in using a Dyson, unless perhaps you are used to even a worse vacuum, and this is your first vacuum that actually picks up dirt so your pretty happy with it.
There are so many better products out there, don’t fall into the hype of this poorly designed and cheaply built machine.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by John, December 5, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

We’ve had our DC14 for 5 years now. Previously vacuums were replaced every 2 years, and various brands. We have never had a vaccuum that is simpler to use. We have 4 pets, and at one time 7 of them, this machine handles any mess that comes it’s way. I’ve read many of the reviews here and I must say common sense when using this machine eliminates most of the problems people complain about. The machine is designed for ease of use, once you get used to this it is just that, easy to use! The ratheting noise I saw some complaints of is becuase the brush is being stopped because the area rug is too light and is being sucked up! I’ve had this happen too, all you need to do is step on the rug ahead of the machine to hold the rug down. Just like pulling the attachment tube out, leave it mounted in the machine first, pull the tube up then release the hose, works every time. After having this machine for 5 years I wouldn’t use anything else!!

Dyson DC14 Review Review by sally, December 23, 2010

  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 11111

I purchased this Dyson about 2 years ago. It wasn’t any kind of bargain!! I HATE it, would never recommend Dyson vacuums, even to my worse enemy! It’s heavy, doesn’t maneuver easily, won’t go under counters and furniture, and in order to use to hose and attachments you have to be Houdini.
I tried to return it but since it was a couple of days after the 30 day limit, I couldn’t I called the phone number on the information on the instructions and had no luck there either.
Worst investment I’ve ever made!!

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Dawn, December 26, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • 44444
  • 44444

I have had my DC14-Animal for 3 years and have loved it until recently. I would’ve rated suction power a 5 then and only a 1, if that, now. I turn it on and after a few seconds, it sounds as if something is clogging the hose. I have stretched the hose, passed a snake through the plastic intake: you name it, I’ve tried it to keep this vacuum working as it had. The only problem we can find is that pet hair has become lodged in the turbo section of the machine. You can see the hair and can remove some of it through slow, painstaking use of a sink snake or the pronged tool my husband uses to pick up dropped nuts/bolts/screws when working in tight quarters.
Like others have mentioned, there is not a way to contact Dyson for possible solutions. Why is that? Does Dyson have internal concerns about the quality of their products thus avoiding unhappy consumers? Like others, I feel, at this time, the price I paid was unreasonable. I gave my “old” bagless Hoover to my mother-in-law when I bought the Dyson…she is still using it!

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Stacy, January 15, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

I absolutely LOVE my Dyson!!!! I’ve had it now for 8 years and have been using it for the past 3 years for my residential cleaning business. It is great for hardwood and carpeted floors! I love the built-in attachments and the long hose for stairways. I’ve used many different vacuums at houses while I clean and the Dyson is still my favorite.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by James, March 5, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Got my dc14 for less than 180 on ebay and it works awesome.Any problems people have with it are likely common sense issues. Also, you do have to clean the things you use to clean to keep them working correctly This is true in all machines even cleaning ones. The brushroll on mine needs the hair cut out of it every 3 weeks and I don’t have pets just small kids but it’s all worth it for the suction and how well we breathe. I vacuum at least every other day in some capacity and I have never used a better vacuum both in suction and practicality. As for price, anybody who pays full price for a new one is a fool as I got two nice models for 286 with shipping.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by bob, April 4, 2011

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111

My dc14 is the worst vacuum I’ve ever owned. Makes grinding noises all the time and very user unfriendly. I don’t know if these people that like it are purchasing there first vacuum or what. My bad experience with this vacuum has nothing to do with lack of common sense.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Vic, July 4, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I love my DC14! I love it so much I had an offer to buy another DC07, at a price I couldn’t refuse,($100) and I bought her! Great machine too, but the DC14 has truly made my daily vacuuming quicker, and way more efficient. Bada Boom, Bada Bing as they say, and I’m done! No fuss! No Muss! I’ve had my DC14 since 2005.I’ve never had any issues with her whatsoever! Heck…I think I even like to vacuum now! I’m sold on Dyson Vacuums!

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Neil, August 28, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

I recently bought a reconditioned DC14 for my hotel. I can honestly say that this cleaner is the best thing since sliced bread. Does all the jobs I expect of it and is so easy to clean out the muck. Just one point, to maintain suction you must regularly clean your filter. Dyson say 6 months for this machine, but if you use it often i would recommend at least once every 2 months. Well it can’t hurt can it? Absolutely love this machine, thanks Dyson for a fantastic flawless product. 10 gold stars.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by nathan, September 2, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I just got the dyson DC33 its an up grade of the DC14 to day for my mom. Well first of all we got an dog in the house and there was hair in the carpet, are old vacuum could not get it up so I was tired of hearing my mom complian, so I just went ahead spent the money and got an dyson, and we love it, love it, we couldn’t believe how much hair and stuff it got up. So I recommend it to everyone.

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Leesa, September 14, 2011

  • 55555
  • 22222
  • 22222

I have had my DC 14 animal for about 6 years. I am a clean freak kind of person and I vacuum a lot and have put a lot of thought into this review. I was so excited about this machine when I got it and remained happy for about 3-4 years. I’ll start with the positives. This vacuum does have great suction and it does not kick out sand or cat litter from behind it while using it on a hard floor. These were big issues for me. These qualities are what kept me happy for those years. However, it starts to break down after about 5 years. Its great suction is part of the problem, because its plastic motor housing cannot hold up to its own suction power and it will start to crack and break apart. My Husband keeps adding screws to keep it together. You cannot buy any parts to remedy this problem. Speaking of parts, you cannot buy any major parts to replace yourself, the co. will direct you to a dealer. My Husband is very handy and can do the work himself. He replaced the clutch motor after finding a dealer willing to sell us the part. Having to take it to a dealer makes this already expensive vacuum even more expensive to maintain. We have also had to replace the wand hose. The Co. rep will tell you that these are normal wear and tear items that you have to replace. Really? They should put that on the box whn your buying it! The way I figure its about $100 a year to have this machine and then you may as well replace it. I agree with Ryan’s review about the patruding parts and the tangly cord. I also agree with Karen S. about the floor attachment. Their floor tool is a no go and I have always used one from a previous vac to get my hard floors done. This vacuum is bulky and does not fit under ANY furniture. It is heavy and feels like your vacuuming with a tank. The attachments have to be forced into place and I agree that a locking mechanism would work better. Do not use this on Shag or high pile carpet. It will stretch out the belts in that clutch motor even faster. There should be a carpet pile height adjustment to help with this problem. It DOES NOT go over multi surfaces well. those big wheels on the back of it get hung up.
My next vacuum will be a Miele. I figure If I’m willing to spend this much money, I will spend a bit more with hopefully a better result. The Meile has a 7 year warranty on its motor! I am being very honest about my review and believe that if your spending $500 for a vacuum you should do your research and be able to get more than 5 years out of it! All those people that were happy after a few years… yeah, I was too!

Dyson DC14 Review Review by Faye, October 17, 2011

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 22222

Another disappointed customer. Sure wish I had read these reviews BEFORE I spent my money on a Dyson. I bought the DC 14 this summer, and have hated vacuuming ever since. It is too bulky: even lying flat, it doesn’t fit underneath things like coffee tables.
The suction on tile floors is NOT great: it fires kitty litter out behind it (hitting my legs). When I shine a flashlight along the floor to see my results, there are tracks in the dust where the vacuum passed. It would be nice if there was a way to adjust the suction, for times when I am vacuuming loose things like curtains.
I can’t easily vacuum chairs and curtains with the hose and attachments as the vacuum keeps rolling – I have to jam my foot under the wheel. Shouldn’t there be some kind of brake?
Switching between canister and hose-mode is very frustrating with the clips and buttons that you have to press. I like to use the hose to get into the corners where the main vacuum can’t reach, but having to get the hose and attachments out and put them back is time-consuming and laborious. I work up a sweat everytime I vacuum.
The hose (with the wand shaft inside) is not loose enough to angle up onto furniture. The brush attachment (cheap plastic) broke the first month.
The only thing good I can say about a Dyson vacuum is the canister idea – no more bags to buy or wash. However, there are plenty of other brands out there with canisters.

Write a Review of Dyson DC14 Review

Suction Power
Maneuverability
Light Weight