Suction Power3.393.393.393.393.39
Maneuverability2.872.872.872.872.87
Light Weight2.632.632.632.632.63

Dyson DC07 Review

Dyson DC07 Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson DC07 Reviews and Ratings

If you are in the market for a new vacuum, and have heard all the hype about how great the Dyson vacuums are, then you may want to check out the Dyson DC07 Upright. The DC07 was one of the first models available to US buyers. You may have noticed that each Dyson model has its own color, while many other vacuum manufacturers offer a wide range of colors to suit the buyers fancy, Dyson’s colors actually represents the type of vacuum, regardless of its model number. Make sure not to confuse the two as the colors Dyson has chosen actually serve a purpose. The DC07 – like many of the other Dyson vacuum cleaners – comes in two flavors, the Dyson DC07 All Floors and the Dyson DC07 Animal. The All floors model comes in what only can be classified as safety yellow while the Animal comes in what looks like a subdued lavender color. These color delineations apply to every model that Dyson offers so all that’s left is to determine which Dyson DC07 upright vacuum works best for you and your needs.



While each model is unique in its own way, the All Floors model and the Animal share a lot of similarities as well. The Dyson DC07 Upright line can be classified as one of the most powerful upright vacuums when compared to other upright competitors on the market. With the use of Dyson’s Root Cyclone technology, the DC07 provides a higher suction power that will pick up more dust. If you don’t believe it, try it for yourself. Vacuum your room with a competitor model, and then vacuum with the DC07. You will be amazed at the amount of extra dust, and maybe even pet fur the DC07 will pick up that the other vacuum left behind. This just goes to prove that not all vacuums are created equal. Along with is strong “sucking” power; pardon the pun, but the DC07 line is built to last. While it may be another of the many vacuums that is made of plastic, the DC07 line is made from the same material that crash helmets are made out of which results in a product that will last as long as the mechanical parts do. No worries about having to toss a perfectly good, working vacuum into the trash because of a cracked piece of plastic that hinders its performance. The DC07 can take all the abuse you can throw at it and keep going. DC07 Animal Partnered with this heavy-duty package is a clear dirt receptacle that offers a few different advantages. You will no longer need to play a guessing game with your vacuum cleaners bag. We’ve all been there. Your vacuum stops performing as well as you’d hope so you replace the bag, to later find out it was only half full.  The DC07 eliminates the need for those expensive bags and allows you to see at a glance when its time to empty it. You also have a chance to retrieve precious items that may have been sucked up on accident. No need to tear open a bag to retrieve the earring you forgot you had dropped on the floor. With the DC07 you can remove it from the bin and just keep on vacuuming. When it comes time to empty the receptacle, cleanup is a breeze. Your hands never touch the dirt. Just press one button and the “trap door” located on the bottom of the bin releases the contents into the garbage. Just close the door and you are ready to go. The Dyson DC07 Upright also provides you with a wealth of functionality, and all are located right on board.  If you have ever fought the frustrating battle of trying to vacuum your stairs while precariously balancing the machine while you vacuum, you may have wished more than once for a hose that would go the distance. The DC07 delivers on this wish and provides you with a 17-foot quick draw hose. Just press the catch, attach your high velocity airflow tool of choice and you are ready to go. Now you can safely vacuum the stairs, or any other hard to reach area without worrying about the machine falling over. The high velocity airflow tools are also unique to Dyson’s vacuums. Odds are you have fought the tug of war battle with your vacuums tools at one point or another and have given up on either vacuuming your curtains or upholstery because you just got tired of all the fighting. Well fight no more. The tools on the DC07 offer continuous airflow that makes the curtain tug of war a thing of the past. DC07 All Floors Vacuuming your floor is also a joy with the DC07. It has the perfect balance and makes it a breeze to maneuver around furniture. No fighting with a clumsy vacuum that you can never seem to maneuver into the right spot. Just point it and it goes. The DC07 also does all the work for you when it comes to changing between floor types. Whether you’re vacuuming hardwood floors or carpet, the DC07 automatically adjust for changes in height. No need to fumble with confusing and difficult to use knobs or dials of the competitors, the DC07 does the work for you.

One of the most important features to the DC07 is that it is approved for allergy suffers. Whether its pet dander, dust mites or pollen, the DC07 utilizes a HEPA filter that has a surface are of 416 square inches which retains the largest amount of microscopic dust particles and allergens. The DC07 helps you breathe better which makes you feel better.

Now that you know all that the All Floors and Animal have to offer, you may be wondering what makes the Animal worth a higher price tag. First the Animal is geared towards the pet owner. Whether you have a dog or a longhaired cat, odds are you may find yourself constantly cleaning, cringing every time someone sits in Fluffy’s favorite chair because you know they will leave with more fur than they came in with.

DC07 Animal

The Animal contains all the features that the All Floors model has to offer, but it throws in a few more tools that are geared specifically to pet owners. Most important, it comes with the Turbo Tool for pet hair pickup. This can best be classified as a powered handheld beater bar nozzle that works great for removing pet hair from carpet pile or upholstery. Worry no more about your guests leaving covered in cat fur, the DC07 provides you with the tools to keep your furniture and your house clean and pet hair free.

The Animal also comes complete with a bag of Zorb carpet cleaning powder and a can of Dysolv spray. Both may be geared towards removing the lingering pet odors and stains that may be in your home, but they can also be used for basic cleaning, whether it is removing food stains or drink spills. When combined with the power of the DC07, these cleaning agents will improve any trouble spot you have to throw at it.

While both the DC07 All Floors and the Animal perform great in many aspects of cleaning, the one downside to the DC07 is the price. I too, had serious concerns about spending so much money on a vacuum, especially when you can by a few of the cheaper models for the price of just one DC07. Dyson’s are more expensive than most of the vacuums currently on the market, but as the saying always goes, you get what you pay for and this is so true with the DC07.

DC07 Animal Bin

One other minor frustration can be the dirt receptacle. While Dyson has come up with a great idea of building in a trap door, rug fuzz and pet fur sometimes have a way of sticking to the air intake, which sometimes requires having to reach your hand in to remove the “cling-ons” in an effort to completely clear the air flow. While this is by no means a major flaw, it can sometimes be a cause for frustration, especially in multi-pet homes.

In conclusion, the Dyson DC07 Upright provides the quality you would expect from Dyson. The All Floors model works great for the average non-pet household since it provides you with a cleaner, fresher smelling home, while leaving you more time to do other things. As for the pet owner, especially those who have multi-pet households, then the Animal is a must. It helps you keep your carpets and upholstery free of pet hair so you have more time to enjoy the love and attention that Fluffy or Spot have to offer.  Regardless of your needs, the DC07 provides the cleaning performance that is the answer to all your cleaning prayers.  Be sure to check out the Dyson DC07 reviews and ratings supplied by the users below or, if you’d like, please add one from your own experience.

Technical Specifications

Model: DC07 All Floors Model: DC07 Animal
Category: Upright Category: Upright
Dimensions: 46.1” x 14.0” x 13.4” Dimensions: 46.1” x 14.0” x 13.4”
Weight: 19.2 lbs Weight: 19.2 lbs
Capacity: 1.06 Gallon Capacity: 1.06 Gallon
Power: 1400 Watt Power: 1400 Watt
Suction: 270 Air Watts* Suction: 270 Air Watts*
Cord Length: 37 ft. Cord Length: 37 ft.
Maximum Reach: 53 ft. Maximum Reach: 53 ft.

Product Features

Configuration: Dyson DC07 All Floors Configuration: Dyson DC07 Animal
Animal Turbo Tool
Low Reach Floor Tool
Carpet Care Kit
Stair Cleaning Quick Draw Hose Stair Cleaning Quick Draw Hose
Air Flow Tools Air Flow Tools
Brush Control Brush Control
Glides into Awkward Spaces Glides into Awkward Spaces
Durable Construction Durable Construction
Reversible Wand Reversible Wand
Trigger Quick Empty Trigger Quick Empty
Edge Leaning Whiskers Edge Cleaning Whiskers
Lifetime Filters Lifetime Filters
Capacity full indicator Capacity full indicator
Warranty: 2 years parts and labor Warranty: 2 years parts and labor
Bagless Cyclonic Power* Bagless Cyclonic Power*
HEPA filtration technology* HEPA filtration technology*

* Air Watts (the power of a vacuum cleaner is best measured in airwatts or ‘suction power’; Power wattage only indicates how much electricity is actually used.)
* Cyclonic Power (this debris capture method provides constant suction that never loses power.)
* HEPA (High Efficiency Particle Arrestor)

56 Customer Reviews of “Dyson DC07 Review”

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Kammora, February 10, 2009

  • 55555
  • 22222
  • 33333

Could be better! This works pretty well with the dirt and all and the filter is somewhat easy to wash but the friggin telescoping handle has a long piece of inflexible hose that hangs over. I end up tripping over the hose while I’m trying to clean. The vac sucks good but the attachments fall off such a pain in theass.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Shannon, February 10, 2009

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444

This thing is worth every cent! This vacuum immediately provided our family with improved health benefits. We all suffered from stuffed up noses and allergies – now after using the animal we feel much better! We donated the old hoover, it’s really amazing how much our old vacuum was leaving behind. So we left it behind and are now much happier. 🙂

Dyson DC07 Review Review by luvscake, February 11, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Finally a vacuum that works! I pretty much read all of the reviews about the different vacuum types before I purchased the yellow remanufactured DC07. This is probably one of the best decisions I’ve made. I have five rooms in my home so if I plug my dyson into our central guest bathroom by the front door then the cord will reach all these areas without replugging. The bin is always extremely full of debri when I empty it. I vacuum more often now because I’m finished so quickly. Highly recommended!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Anonymous, February 19, 2009

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222

This thing was decent for it’s time but the newer ball versions put it to shame…

Dyson DC07 Review Review by ryan21, February 20, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

For those that are poo-pooing this model Dyson DC07 they’re crazy. I’ve had one for over 4 years and it still runs like new! I love my Dyson!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by ellamae, March 4, 2009

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 22222

Well I guess I must’ve gotten the runt of the litter. This dyson looks very high tech and has apparently won lots of awards but I havent had a very good experience using it. The suction is good but the attachments are difficult to use. The flexible hose is incredibly stiff…the cord just wraps around pegs (why doesnt it retract?) I’ve read consumer reports where the dyson dc07 has come in behind $100 to $150 models…so I don think it’s just me.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Anonymous, March 24, 2009

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

First time I use I fall in love with this vaccum. It works very well cleaning my house and my parents house. I’ve had it for a long time and have had no problems at all.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by AngieJn316, July 29, 2009

  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 22222

I have had the DC07 model for about 3 years and I have to say I am not as impressed as I was at first. The first year is was great and seemed to do what I needed. I don’t like the design of the extention hose, very hard to get into tight areas and manuver. But refuse to buy something else after spending so much on this machine. I have replaced all filters, including the lifetime filter, it clogged and would not allow for the proper suction. It does not allow to go under many things is just to bulky. My most recent problem is the collection bin trap door just broke and I have found to replace I can not order just the trap door but the whole assembly which runs about $50. For the replacement parts and time and effort trying to figure out exactly what causes each problem I don’t believe I would buy another Dyson. I love bagless, but had a Oreck previously and may consider that when this one finally dies. When you have pets in the home you must have a reliable vac.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Curtis, August 12, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Are these refurbished vacuums as good as the newest DC25’s???

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Suzanne, August 31, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Really bad vacuum. Had this for about 3 years now and hate it more and more. The suction is horrible. You need to go over the same piece over and over. I’m writing this review now because I was at my friend’s house yesterday and she had the same one. She had just bought it and said she hated it as much as I did.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Kim, January 12, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 33333

Incredible vacuum. Does everything it promises… sucks (in the literal sense… meaning it works so well!!!!) I do not know why anyone would not love this beautiful, highly functional machine. I love bragging about how amazing my vacuum is!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by kevin, February 16, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

We just bought one recently and did not realize how crappy the Bissell was that we were using, or the Dirt Devil before that. Our carpets and air seems cleaner with no fur still lying on the carpet after vacuuming. Very impressive suction, only thing I would change would be the telescopic handle, it is kind of frustrating.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Pike, March 3, 2010

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 33333

I just inherited my parents dc7 – they picked up a new one. I must say that this still works just fine after at least 7 years of use.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by heatrher, March 9, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

Works fine for me, the hose is a little difficult at times, but hey, the suction makes up for it big time.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Dianne, April 10, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I will NEVER buy another Dyson!! I purchased the Dyson Animal in 2006. To date, April 10, 2010, I have sent it back for repairs FOUR TIMES due to lack of suction. One would think that a vacuum cleaner that cost $579 would certainly last longer than this! Calling Customer Service is a joke! I have begged for a replacement, because obviously I have a lemon. However, they keep returning the lemon to me. It just returned from the third time being sent back, I plugged it in, and NO SUCTION STILL. I have now been without a vacuum cleaner for SIX WEEKS, but don’t think for one minute that Dyson cares!!!! NEVER, EVER BUY ONE!!!!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Skeeter De Mattia, May 30, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I absolutely HATE this thing!! On a smooth surface carpet it’s okay but on a textured one, it doesn’t pick up in the low spots.
It is heavy and the damn dirt compartment keeps flopping open when I remove it to empty it and the dirt and dust goes all over. If you try to pick it up by the handle the dirt compartment comes off and the dirt goes everywhere. The telescoping handle is a joke. Anyone know of a good vacuum??

Dyson DC07 Review Review by rich, September 2, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Great when they are new… Really bad with in a couple years. The low density plastic they use on these vacuums is China grade JUNK. It dry rots, cracks and falls apart and it is expensive to replace. If they could only make them with high quality plastic resins the overall design technology of the vacuum is superior. Cost over product durability – I give them an F. Cost over performance (new) – I give them an A.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Elizabeth, September 6, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I purchased my animail DC 07 in 2002 – this thing is still going strong!! I was looking for a reason to buy the new Dyson Ball – Animal version, but I couldn’t bring myself to buy a new vacuum when my DC 07 is still doing such a great job! I have never had any problems with this vacuum – the only money I’ve spent on this vacuum is for a new hose when the original one cracked after 7 years of use – it was $29.00 for the local vacuum repair shop to replace the hose – it’s now like new! I have two large labrador retrievers who shed like CRAZY and a cat – this vacuum sucks up dog and cathair I can’t even see on the carpet…the amount of dirt and hair it picks up is insane! I use this vacuum daily – sometimes twice a day – it gets plenty of use and never an issue..I was hesitant to buy this vacuum in 2002 due to the price – but the amount of money i’ve saved over the years on bags and filters has easily paid for the purchase price..I was paying twenty seven bucks for circular hepa filters for my bagless Hoover Windtunnel every two months…that expense really adds up (180 bucks a year!)and while the Windtunnel did a very good job, it was very heavy and expensive to maintain…thank you Dyson for making such a great vacuum that helps me keep my home clean…when this one finally gives up I will surely buy another Dyson 🙂

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Elizabeth, September 6, 2010

  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 44444

i just wrote a review (see above) and I should have addressed the remarks that many are making about lack of suction…this is VERY EASILY fixed – there are simple little access tubes that take one second to detach and clear out the clogs..this vacuum is basically foolproof in that all area’s are simple to access and clean…i too have had times when my vacuum lost suction and i solved the problem in about 2 minutes – take off the access tube – dump the clog or obstruction in the garbage – put the access tube back on…DONE! Good as new…i think many people don’t realize just how simple this vacuum is because most vacuums require a trip to the repair shop to clear clogs because the manufacturer makes it impossible for normal people to maintain the vacuum…i have never had a simpler vacuum – no belts, no bags, no filters (except the the washable and reuseable hepa filter) to change, and easy to clear clogs…yes, the telescoping handle is a big annoying, but for the amount of dirt, hair, and filth this thing sucks up – I find that to be a very minor inconvienience and have no problem dealing with it…also, the vacuum is very light compared to the Hoover Windtunnel beast i used to own…take a moement and get to know the features of your vacuum before you give up on it..

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Dennis, October 2, 2010

  • 44444
  • 22222
  • 22222

We have the DC07 for about three years we have two dogs so its used every day. The suction is just OK not great but not bad it does pick up dog hair. I feel that it was over price for the poor quality that you get. One of the big problems with it is the heavy weight, try lifting it up two or three stairways everyday it will give you a good arm workout at least it keeps my wife in shape. Now lets talk about the attachments and the hose they are very hard to use and again of poor quality. Everyone that I know who has a dyson has broken the hose as we also have, now I have to order another hose. What can I say about Dyson its JUNK.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Mitch, October 18, 2010

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 11111

I’ve had a DC07 for about 5-6 years. When I got it, I thought it was the greatest thing ever and was happy with it. However, as expensive as it is, it just doesn’t hold its value for me. I wouldn’t say it’s junk, but I will say it was way overpriced and is just too heavy. I just bought a new vacuum yesterday, but Dyson was not on my list of brands to look at this time. I instead went with a canister that was MUCH quieter, MUCH lighter, and has MUCH better suction than my Dyson ever had. Don’t fall for the slick ads or buy into the hype!! Do your research and try it out before you buy a vacuum. I think you’ll find much better vacuums out there for the money.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Vickie, October 28, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

We purchased the Animal in 2007 and though it was a bit pricey, we’ve never had any regrets; there’s alot of truth to the saying “you get what you pay for”. The suction power is great, the attachments work extremely well, and I especially like the fact that you can break down the attachment hose for ease of use in cleaning your vehicle. I love the bagless, see through container and it is simple to empty. We have 2 dogs and a cat in the house, we have hardwood and carpeting and it does a excellent job all around. We’ve had no problems with it at all. It works as well now as it did the day we took it out of the box. In the past we’ve had Hoovers, Electrolux, Dirt Devils and the Dyson is by far the best vaccum cleaner in my opinion.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Linda, November 7, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I bought a Dyson Animal d/t my rainbow was on the fritz after 15 years. This vacuum is not what it is advertised to be. I have animals and I have to empty the canister at least four times during the sweeping period. My home is not that big. It is heavy and you cannot get under furniture with the ball design. The suction is strong. I will use it as a backup sweeper but the Rainbow vac is much more versitile and I will remain using it as my primary.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Maxine Forrest, November 10, 2010

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 22222

I purchased the Dyson Ball about a year ago. The Vacuum itself is great but the hand tools are a joke. The hand tools have had no suction since it was new. I called the 800 number and waited 15 minutes befor giving up. I waited a couple of days and called the 800 number agin and waited 18 minutes befor giving up. I then e-mailed Dyson and got a response to call customer service. Their customer NO service is very real. I had to purchase a cheaper vacuum just for the hand tools. The hand tools have NO suction. I would advise anyone thinking about purchasin a Dyson ball to try it out for the hand tools.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Joyce, November 19, 2010

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111

I purchased a DC07 about 5 years ago. At first it worked great, but then each time as I vacuumed my carpets, I can only get about 1/8 of the canister full of dirt/dust, and the I have to empty it. I have a large bedroom, no shag carpet, easy to vacuum, but I have to continullay empty the canister. Maybe it’s just me. The part about the vacuum I dislike the most is using the wand to clean around the baseboards. If I don’t have the wand held just right–the vacuum tips over. It is very hard to manuever to clean my large bedroom. When it was new, it was great. And now, it’s not so great. Anyone have any suggestions?

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Jeannie, November 27, 2010

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Wow, what a big disappointment and expensive purchase! Vacuum lost suction, with no real way to clear it. We bought the “Pet” version, as we have a small dog. The vacuum worked well in the beginning and then it became clear we had made a “big” mistake with said purchase. As, we lost all suction power and was not successful in clearing it out. We feel completely ripped off. We now own a Hoover Wind Tunnel, which we are very happy with. For those thinking of making said purchase, I would say: Buyer Beware!!!!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by cheryl clarke, December 2, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I just bought a dyson DC 33 I too, find the hand held suction hose very hard to manuver has anyone come up with a solution? I think if there was a way to keep the hose from wanting to retract all the time the prob. might be partialy solved. I find it tireing to keep pulling on it.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Mac, December 13, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

My husband bought me the DC07 a few years back for our new house. It worked great in the beginning. This past year, however we had some work done to our house. We had a lot of dust from our dry wall when we had our upstairs bonus room finished out. My mother-in-law vacuumed this up and should have swept it. The fine dust clogged our expensive vacuum. I had to take it to a dyson certified repair shop. Over $100 later, the vacuum worked again. However, it doesn’t seem to be the same. It will work one week and then no suction the next week. I check all my hoses and connections and do not see anything clogged. I can’t figure it out. Being that I just had maintenance done on it earlier this year, I don’t feel I need to do it this soon again. I don’t feel that is is replacing the filter either, which was replaced when the maintenance was done on it. I’m at a complete loss and the vacuum is not that old. This is very frustrating. I thought this vacuum was not supposed to lose suction?? So say the commercials.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Mac, December 13, 2010

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 22222

oops, forgot to rate it.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Maxine Forrest, December 23, 2010

  • 11111
  • 44444
  • 33333

I purchased the Dyson Ball and am very pleased with the Vacum part of it. The hand tools have absolutly no suction and has not since I purchased it. I called customer service and waited 15 minutes on hold and hung up. I then sent and e-mail and they responded by telling me to call customer service. I then called the 800 number again. After waiting 20 minutes I gave up and have since purchased a cheaper vacum just for the hand tools. Lets face it Dyson does not have a customer service,if they do it is very lousy customer service. Their advertising on TV should inclued their lousy serice.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Tanya, December 28, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I’ve had my DC07 for about 3 years. It worked great until about 4 months ago. I noticed it was not picking up dirt like it used to. I checked all the hoses and cleaned the filters. No luck. I took it to my local vacuum repair shop and $150.00 later I have a new clutch mechanism. I really didn’t need a whole clutch mechanism because only the belt had gone bad. Sadly, one cannot replace just the belt. Bad design! This vacuum cleaner does not “work properly” in my book.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by C. Vincent, December 29, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I am in the market for a new vacuum cleaner. I have read the reviews on the Dyson Animal. I must say that the reviews vary a lot! And I am so disappointed to hear that customer service is not up to our expectations. I am also concerned about the suction. We have a shepard that sheds a lot and I sweep and vacuum too frequently. I am also at odds with the reviews that say it can’t get under furniture.
So what does Dyson have to say about all this? Don’t they see the reviews and try to make things better? Is customer service in this country? I would like to try a vacuum cleaner out before buying but no one seems to want to make me that offer.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Judy, January 8, 2011

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 22222

I bought our Dyson about 4 years ago and I wish I would have read the reviews first. I would NOT recommend this piece of junk. Yes, it had good suction however I have to spend 15 min cleaning it after I sweep. We have a dog and a daughter with long hair and all that hair gets tangled up in the roller. Down on hands and knees pulling and tugging to clean it out. Dirt gets trapped up in the cannister and its not like you can just wash it out. If I was an older person I would not be able to keep the sweeper clean. Poor design.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Charles, February 6, 2011

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 22222

I purchased this vacuum to replace a hoover canister that I had for years and eventually wore out. The dyson I bought will never wear out because I dont ever use it. It has no suction. It just kicks 90% of the dirt around from place to place. To have spent this amount of money when I could have a better product at half the price makes my wallet sick!!!! This is a perfect example of hype of performance. I have taken the vacuum to my local service center and they cant make it work either. Buyer Beware!!!!!!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Angie, February 14, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I have this model and was so excited to get it a couple of years ago! But to my dismay, it has been very DISAPPOINTING! The roller gets tangled at least once a week. The suction SUCKS! Literally! I took it once to a vaccuum repair and they said they’ve had numerous complaints on this model. I can sweep over, over, and over the same small object, and it never gets sucked up! I am so no happy with this model that I will NEVER BY DYSON AGAIN, no matter what model! I’ve told everyone I know, don’t buy DYSON!!!!!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by roby2000, February 26, 2011

  • 44444
  • 22222
  • 22222

I have a Dyson DC07 upright. I have been semi satisfied enough to keep using it. A little 3 inch plastic catch that connects the main cyclone system to the machine broke. When I tried to purchase a replacement piece which would cost about $4, I was told I needed to buy the entire cyclone assembly fr $79.99. I am going to destroy the vacuum and buy a Dirt Devil for $50. I was told to schlep out to Brooklyn to a repair company and see if they had the piece. I told the customer service(?) rep that there was no way I could do that and, since they manufacture the piece, they should be able to get one. I was rudely brushed off and told in no uncertain terms that it’s tough but that’s the way Dyson does business and, if I feel cheated, well, too bad. Never again with me I’m afraid. They manufacture plastic crap for a premium price and I’m a quick learner.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by trixxi27, March 17, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I have had my Dyson 2 years, as a replacement for an 8 yr old Hoover wind tunnel. I didnt want to spend almost $500 but I really wanted one that had strong suction on carpeted floors. I was satisfied for about 9 months. After just 9 months, it started losing suction! After 12 months, it wouldnt even pick up specks of paper. It was far worse than my old worn out Hoover I’d gotten rid of for low suction!!!! I practically dismantled it checking the hoses, cleaning filters, and cleaning the roller brush, but nothing worked. Nothing! I’ve gone through that whole process three times now. It’s a necessary task, but I don’t like to vaccuum. But more than that, I hate to vaccuum, dismantle the thing, try again, get disgusted, then mad, and still have dirty floors. I am very, very disappointed in this product. My disappointment is compounded by the fact I feel so foolish for believing the hype and spending twice the amount of money that I would’ve spent on a much better product. From the reviews, it is apparently the norm. For anyone considering a Dyson, I hope you are luckier than me and manage to buy one of the apparently few that DO work as promised.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by trixxi27, March 17, 2011

  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 44444

forgot 2 rate it.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by don, March 20, 2011

  • 44444
  • 22222
  • 22222

Good suction, but have to empty the canister very frequently. Most disturbing is poor qualify of plastic parts. One side of trap door on bin broke. Not very stable and tips over easly. Plastic portion that holds canister in place broke long with handle for canister.
I have never had a vacuum as disappointing and poor quality. Good suction does not mean much if vacuum parts brake.
My mom had a vacuum for over 40 years and never had any broken parts.
Warrantee should cover broken plastic parts as the quality should withstand normal use.
For the price I highly reccomend different brand.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Jeri, April 1, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I bought the “made for Target” model but I’m not sure it’s a DC07. It doesn’t matter, the thing only works when upright. The attachments don’t work. I’m really PO ed b/c I thought it would be the best. I researched Dyson (impressed with his steadfastness and the wind tunnel “technology”). I’ve used this vacuum for over a year (b/c I spent so much on it and thought it must need cleaning so I never thought to take it back – it’s a DYSON afterall) and I’m through taking it apart just so it might work again!!! It DOESN’T SUCK!!!! I will NEVER buy Dyson again. If you have serious dirt i.e. pets, kids, LIFE, and don’t vacuum and mop daily, save your money and buy any other brand. Get a shop vac! Use your own lungs for crying out loud! TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT. Note: I also bought a hand held that DOES NOT SUCK. You could say I went on a Dyson shopathon and I should’ve tossed my money in the wind. No one with a Dyson would be able to catch the bills for lack of SUCTION. Such IRONY. You can say I’m DISGUSTED!! I’ve got to go pick up the hairs my vacuum won’t suck up and wipe off the cobwebs the attachments won’t suck up either. Hope my crappy experience saves someone some money.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by vincent, April 26, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

LOL…all of you that bought the dyson are SUCKERS! Go with the Shark Navigator Lift-Away Upright Vacuum. All the same technology of the dyson with the same suction power for 1/3 of the price! Did I mention Lift-Away? Yes, canister can be removed and become a hand held vacuum for harder to reach areas, without losing any suction power! For those who are still in the market for a vacuum, look up the Shark before you spend $400-$500 on a dyson.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Brenda kovach, April 30, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I have always loved canisters vacuums, better suction. So I went out and thought I was treating myself to a great vacuum cleaner. Brought it home and I have to admit it is cool to see the dirt being picked up. But the attachments are awkward, it tips over and the suction is terrible. I absolutely don’t like it. So I took my 2 Kenmore canisters to get cleaned and checked out, and while I was in the repair shop I asked the gentleman about the 7 Dysons sitting in the corner. Of course I asked about them, he said he gets them all the time. So no more Dysons for me. Good old Kenmores for me.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Melinda, May 16, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I cannot stand my DYSON DCO7! At first it really had power and lifted dirt and dust; however, after two years, it is not performing at all! I’ve cleaned it, cleaned the filters, and still, it has very little power! I am ready to leave it on the curb! My cleaning lady asked to stop using it. I asked why and she said it took too long to use, having to change the tools took too long and it did not get under furnature very well and the brush was always needing to be cleaned due to dog hair. She said she had to keep going over spots to get it to finally remove dog hair. She used her reliable Hoover and was fine. I’ve started using it between her cleanings and now I understand her complaints. Do I have a lemon? I need a great vacuum and I am EXTREMELY disappointed with the expensive Dyson. Back to square one to find a reliable vacuum!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Margie, May 22, 2011

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 22222

I have had my Dyson for 7 years and I have to say it disappoints. It was a decent vacuum cleaner for the 3-4 years, but (despite the claims) it does loose it’s suction and it doesn’t perform. It is not any better quality than a $200 vacuum you can purchase at Walmart or Target, so do yourself a favor and save the money. BTW: we have tried to consult with Dyson to figure out what to do to make increase the customer service disappoints almost as much as the product.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Lisa, May 28, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

This is the worst piece of crap I have ever owned. I have told my friends that have said they were going to buy one not too that they would be wasting there money. The dirt canister is falling apart, every time I go to vacuum another piece on the canister breaks. I have both carpet and tile so I need to use the hose with attachments and I need to replace the hose due to the fact that it is falling apart again, I’ve already replaced it once. The vacuum I had before was the best until I wore it out after about 12 years and this one I have only had for about 5. The plastic is so check probably because it is made in China!!!! My kids, husband and I have allergies and asthma and it does not vacuum well enough. I would not buy this product again or recommend it to anyone. Junk, Junk, Junk!!!!!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by JW, June 1, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I hope these vacuums last as long as my Electrolux Silverado Deluxe from the 70’s. Over 30 years and still works like new. Only had to get a replacement hose after 20 years. Never needed a tune-up.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Jana, June 4, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Dyson makes the worst vacuums by far!!! Don’t be fooled by the fancy colors and clean look. They do not have ANY suction and the dust just spreads around. If you want a good vacuum then don’t buy this one, honestly your better off buying a cheap one that has suction from Target or somewhere. With the time and money I spent trying to fix this I could have had a housekeeper come for a full year once a week!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Andy, June 17, 2011

  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 11111

This vacuum cleaner is grossly overpriced and overrated. For $380 you can get FOUR decent vacuum cleaners. We had ours for less than 3 years and used it sparingly (about once every other week), but we already had to replace the flexible hose for connecting cleaninig tools. That’s $47 with S & H!! The thing is VERY heavy, terribly noisy and it is very difficult to connect cleaning tools. Get yourself four Hoovers or Eurekas and don’t bother with Dyson.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Ruth, July 3, 2011

  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 44444

I bought my dyson a long time ago. I have the original yellow. I love it its wonderful. I use the telesoping hose to vacumn curtains all the time. I am wanting to get a new one but this one still works great. I did buy my daughter one when she graduated from college. She has a dog 3 long haired cats and two little kids. They also love it….so there you go!!!!!!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Arlene Koziel, August 20, 2011

  • 55555
  • 22222
  • 11111

I am very disapointed. The machine is very hard to push not self propeled. I can not find how toget the hose long enough to do my stairs

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Bobbi, September 19, 2011

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 33333

I am very impressed with my Dyson that I have had for over four years now. It may not be the lightest weight vacuum but most aren’t anyway. I can do most any job in my home requiring a vacuum. I have never had a problem with this vacuum and the suction continues to be excellent. I have had several Hoovers, Eureka’s etc and have had to replace everyone of them with three years of use. I would recommend this vacuum to anyone. I have had five cats and two dogs at one time before!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by jim, September 24, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

The Dyson is great at one thing: good suction. I never knew my house was so dirty! But there are three major issues that prevent this vacuum from being great. The telescopic wand is horrific to use. It is neither convenient nor user friendly. It is at best a compromise, working enough to be usable but not convenient enough to be used each time. Secondly, the leading edge of the Dyson does not fit under a typical cabinet toe kick space. Your choice is to remove the wand and use it or ignore the dirt until next time. Imagine the developers of this vacuum considering this choice. But finally, and most obnoxiously, when you encounter an obstacle like a carpet the beater screams at you. It is loud, obnoxious and totally unnecessary. The developers of this vacuum did spend enough time figuring out these potential problems. The only consolation in using the Dyson is when you empty the canister and see what you have been living with for the last week. This cleaner could be great but falls to mediocrity with this unaddressed problems.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Bokhui Hamlin, October 2, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

This is the worst vacuum that I have ever used in my entire life. The vacuum is not easy to manover around the house and the suction power is horrible. I got this as a gift in 2006 and it has never been a reliable vacuum. I would NOT recommend this vacuum for anyone. I’m shocked to see that some people are actually giving good reviews. I have never written a review online but I couldn’t resist writing one about this vacuum because it is just that horrible. Do not buy this vacuum!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Roberta Matusik, October 8, 2011

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 22222

IT SUCKS! I have suffered through the last four years with it. It never really sucked up that great. I used to have to push the front down to suck up the pet hair on the rug. Then it would finally pick up. My husband bought it for me as a gift and I did not have the heart to tell him it was a piece of junk. I wish know I would have brought it back. I have always had Hoovers prior to this and I have never had any problems, they are just so heavy. The Dyson is overated and over priced. We also called customer no service and got just that NO SERVICE. They just tell you to take it to a repair shop. I will never purchase another Dyson. They are a rip-off.

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Bonnie, August 3, 2015

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have had my Dyson Pink DC07 for about 10 years and it works today as good as the day I purchased it. Prior to purchasing my DYSON I would need to buy a new vacuum every 2-3 years due to the loss of suction which could not be fixed.
With my Dyson I follow the owners manual recommendations on cleaning the filter twice a year and as needed I will take apart the hoses if there happens to be something that gets clogged in the tubes. I love the way the pieces come apart so easily and the clogs can be cleared. The tool attachments are handy for reaching under cabinets and furniture as well as high areas. I even clean out my dryer vents.
I have never written a review about a product before, good or bad but I needed to share my experience after seeing the negative reviews about this product and knowing how great it has been for me and the fact that I have had it for OVER 10 YEARS and it still WORKS GREAT!!

Dyson DC07 Review Review by Mike Skrobot, July 19, 2016

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

Very powerful suction for all my vacuuming needs and the Dyson DC 07 Animal is very good for a house with pets. The 37 ft cord allows you to go room to room before having to switch to another plug to do the next room. The only thing about it is that it does not fit under the furniture and the hose is not 17 of stretch it actually stretches to 13 ft.So you only get 50 ft 37 ft cord and 13 ft hose. Great vacuum to have if you need a great vacuum.

Write a Review of Dyson DC07 Review

Suction Power
Maneuverability
Light Weight