Suction Power4.334.334.334.334.33
Maneuverability3.223.223.223.223.22
Light Weight2.562.562.562.562.56

Dyson DC 28 Review

Dyson DC28 Vacuum Cleaner

Dyson DC28 Reviews and Ratings
With the holiday season upon us, a sparkling clean house is at the top of most people’s wish list.  It’s wonderful to have pets in your home at any time, but especially so during holidays when visitors arrive and more time is spent relaxing with friends and family.  For any pet owner, the longer your pets live, the more time you have to enjoy them.  But as pets age, often a more intense clean-up regimen is necessary.  For most pets, shedding season is Spring and Autumn, and heavy clean-up season likely follows.  Whether your indoor pet of choice is a Persian cat, Old English Sheep-dog, Chihuahua or an Angora rabbit, the Dyson DC28 Animal upright vacuum is a great tool to have in your household.  Other vacuums lose suction so pet hair can get left behind in your home, but the Dyson name is synonymous with heavy-duty reliability and the Dyson DC28 will not disappoint.



The DC28’s bulletproof construction comes complete with Dyson’s patented Airmuscle technology, which allows you to adjust the cleaner head to different floor surfaces easily (with the push of a button and no bending over).  It uses pneumatics to hug the floor and focus suction which means you are getting the most advanced cleaner head technology on the market.

The Dyson DC28 Animal upright vacuum has the trademark Root Cyclone technology. This means It removes cat, dog and other pet hair from your home using centrifugal forces up to 150,000 times the force of gravity.  Very little dirt, dust, grime, pet hair and dander (or even small stones!) will be able to resist the powerful forces of this suction power.   It’s why Dyson vacuums don’t lose suction as you use them.  Its powerful Dyson digital high RPM motor spins so fast it could easily compete with a Formula One race car.  This means you are getting the most powerful suction on the market.

If you are one of the millions of people who live with allergies as well as pets, then you understand fully the importance of minimizing exposure to your pet’s hair and dander. The Dyson Animal upright line is certified “asthma & allergy friendly” by the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America.  The DC28 has a washable HEPA filter that removes allergens and dust particles from the exhaust air making your home enjoyable to even the most sensitive of allergy sufferers. Dyson’s customary attention to detail is apparent with this DC28 model vacuum cleaner.  Most electric motors have carbon brushes that deteriorate over time which generate fine dust particles in the air.  The Dyson digital brushless electric motor design has eliminated even this as a source of potential airborne irritants, most noted by allergy sufferers.

The primary cleaning surface of the DC28 that comes in contact with your surfaces and upholstery is the mini-turbine head.  It uses a clean-air turbine, which is lighter than the motorized brush head technology used in other vacuums.  The mini-turbine head has a split-channel airflow to prevent blockages too.  This means you are still getting the legendary suction power Dyson is famous for but in a package with ease of maneuverability in mind.  The bristles of this brush bar spin at 3,600 RPM, fast enough to whisk away surface pet hair and exposed ground in dirt needing to be extracted from your furniture and floors, and quickly deposits it right into the dirt canister.  This is sucking power at its finest.  The DC28 comes complete with a high velocity airflow crevice brush tool that is ideal for cleaning everything from base boards to those hard to reach narrow places in-between your furniture.

The combination brush tool is included for lighter household cleaning chores, such as dusting even the most delicate surfaces.  This tool takes care of everything from computer keyboards and audio-visual equipment, to shelves of books or knick-knacks.  The added extension tools that come with the unit allows you to reach high surfaces to tackle every window covering from blinds to draperies, as well as wainscot ridges.  You may want to invest in additional extension accessories if you are looking to vacuum detailed crown molding on your ceilings.  The Dyson DC28’s power is substantial enough to handle the task of cleaning places that might seem far away, but using the extension tool will not cause a sacrifice in the suction levels.

Once you’ve finished cleaning the house you can easily step outside and get down and dirty with your favorite outdoor living area.  The high capacity bag-less dirt chamber on the DC28 means you won’t have to interrupt your cleaning rhythm to run to the trash bin repeatedly.  One push of a button neatly disposes of the collection of dirt, grime and pet hair resting in the waste cylinder directly into your trash bin.  This reduces further any potential irritation to the allergy sufferer because you never have to handle the dirt, dust and pet dander.

Heavy duty construction and bullet proof technology do create a substantial tool to tackle your cleaning jobs around the home.  The DC28 Animal upright has been constructed with care and the attention to engineering detail the Dyson name is famous for.  The DC28 is engineered to move across the multiple surfaces of your floor with ease, but for some people, it can be a little heavy to move around.  If your home is a single story floor plan, you most likely will fully appreciate all of this power coupled with its rugged construction and engineering sophistication.  Appropriate tools to tackle stairs are available for the Dyson DC28.  There are also portable machines in the Dyson Animal line which might be more suited for lots of stairs or multi-level homes.

In summary, as vacuums go, the Dyson DC28 can be your best friend, if you own pets, like to have a clean home and want the security knowing that your home is thoroughly clean and fresh after you vacuum.  This model is designed, engineered and built to last a long time.  Just like the investment you’ve made in your home to have high quality floor surfaces and window coverings, the investment you make to purchase a Dyson DC28 is one of high quality.  There are less costly vacuums on the market, and there are less costly floor coverings.  Rarely is the decision to purchase up-market a regrettable one.  Won’t you join us as satisfied owners of this reliable upright vacuum cleaner?  Give it a try and take a minute if you like to tell us what you think about it.  We’re very interested in your personal review and understanding what your experience with the Dyson DC28 has been.

Technical Specifications

Model: DC28 Animal
Category: Upright
Dimensions: 43.5” x 13.2” x 16.7”
Weight: 20.56 lbs
Capacity: 0.66 Gallon
Power: 1200 Watts
Suction: 220 Air Watts*
Cord Length: 35 ft.
Maximum Reach: 52.6 ft.

Product Features

Configuration: Dyson DC28 Animal
Level 3 Root Cyclone Technology
Stair Cleaning Quick Draw Hose
Air Flow Tools
Motorized Beaterbar
Brush Control
Durable Construction
16 foot hose
Trigger Quick Empty
Lifetime Filters
Warranty: 5 years parts & labor
Edge Cleaning Whiskers
HEPA Filtriation Technology
Soft Dusting Brush
Mattress Tool
Flexible Crevice Tool

* Air Watts (the power of a vacuum cleaner is best measured in airwatts or ‘suction power’; Power wattage only indicates how much electricity is actually used.)
* Cyclonic Power (this debris capture method provides constant suction that never loses power.)
* HEPA (High Efficiency Particle Arrestor)

22 Customer Reviews of “Dyson DC 28 Review”

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by RitaKCexpert, November 12, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 33333

I was so excited with the power of my new DC28, that I ran out and bought a second one for our vacation home. I’ve owned Afghan Hounds for years and have gotten used to their hair being everywhere. Our house guests, especially my mother-in-law, aren’t so fond of it. The Dyson28 cleans the floors very nicely and the attachments work well on our furniture. Everyone is much happier now.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by MannyMoe&JackDaddy, November 12, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 22222

I like to vacuum every other day. With three cats running the household, I was going through 3-5 vacuum cleaner bags each month. I prefer the Dyson28. No bags. It’s a little heavy, but that just makes cleaning the house double as a workout. I enjoy tackling those stairs!

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Maggie, November 18, 2010

  • 55555
  • 22222
  • 33333

Decent vacuum but I prefer the ball unit for it’s maneuverability.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by jason, November 29, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 33333

awesome went through my living room carpet for 20 min with my old brissle animal vac and got about a golf ball size of dog hair packed into a garbage bag. went through with my new dc28 and first time trough had a grapefruit packed size of DIRT AND HAIR

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by MaryQ, December 3, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Just used my DC28 for the 1st time, it left lots of dog hair behind and I had to pass over the same spot 5 to 6 times to just get “most of the hair”…didnt work any better than the garage sale hoover I bought for $5.00. Very disappointed. Taking it back tomorrow. Also the instructions are almost non existant and it is Super Heavy. Bad choice.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by John, December 5, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 33333

I bought a Eureka saying it is better than the Dyson for much less and I bought a Dyson (Great deal). I used the Eureka on my hallway where my kids and dogs run. It did a good job but then I used the dyson and was amazed what the eureka left behind! The Dyson picked up more than the Eureka. It is on the heavy side but I will deal with that for a cleaner house.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Keith, December 31, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 22222

Went and yesterday and could not beleave that my wife vaccumed almost evryday with our old vaccum and when she used the new dyson 28 she got up a walmart bag full of dirt. Amazing

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Chris, January 7, 2011

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 33333

Great product when it is working. Have followed all the instructions to the thing and broke twice in the first year of owning it. Nothing we are doing wrong just parts on it that were bad. Customer Service at first is helpful now just want to give me the 5 to 7 days till done line for two weeks. This is the second time it is away at service and has been over a month now. All I can say is great product when it is working….

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Tom, January 21, 2011

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111

If you are buying the DC28 to pick up animal hair and dander, I DO NOT recommend this product. I’ve owned Dyson products before and was impressed with them. This one however has a serious flaw that Dyson is aware of and is not interested in fixing. The problem is the rotating brush. This model uses a Dyson digital high RPM motor that will NOT work on large area rugs. If you have wood floors with such rugs, know that the brush will stop working — something that’s actually been designed into the machine! You may have to stop the machine, rotate the brushes and restart the vacuum several times to do one large (say 5×8 or larger) rug. They are recommending that you go to a ‘bare floor’ setting to pull up the dirt. Of course if you’re trying to pull out animal hair or dander, that makes this option a non-starter. If you are willing to just rely on the suction, take heart in the fact that this machine SUCKS. But if you want it to work in combination with a brush. Walk away from this model. Dyson — SHAME ON YOU as you know this is happening not only with the DC28 but the DC33 and other models.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Andrew Bartek, January 22, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

The people that write these reviews don’t even know how to spell. The don’t use commas or periods. Stupid idiots. Why don’t they get rid of the dogs and cats.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Renee', January 31, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

I am so thrilled that we finally gave in and spent the money on a Dyson. First of all, I am a 104 pound woman and while I was worried about the weight, it has not been a problem. It’s a little tough to push on higher piles but I couldn’t care less, it’s worth the small amount of extra effort.

We have 2 black long haired dogs that shed like crazy and their fur has been driving me insane for years and making my home feel very dirty. My problem has pretty much been solved and I would say that this super suction power that it has does the job very well.

We have a long pile area rug in our living room that looked about 20 years old even though it’s actually 1 year old thanks to it being walked on and matted down. I had just used our old vacuum the day before we got our Dyson so I figured the carpet was pretty clean. WRONG. The Dyson pulled up THREE canisters full of dirt, hair, dust and God only knows what else and my long pile rug is fluffy once again and looks like new. I had spent day after day bending down and picking up stuff that our old Dirt Devil left behind but those days are over.

I have had problems with vacuums just blowing things around when used on a hard surface floor even though it was on the correct setting. No problems here with the Dyson.

If you are like me and have been throwing around the idea of purchasing a Dyson for awhile, do it. This is one product where the price speaks for the quality and performance. Save up, have a garage sale, whatever you have to do, just do it.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Susan Thompson, February 8, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 33333

I have to pull my filter out after each time I vacuum and use a shop vac to vacuum the filter. I’ve tried replacing the filter and threw away the old filter and the brand new one did the same. It sucks a lot of dust, dander and pet hair which I am really impressed with but I dread vacuuming since I know that before I begin each time, a trip to the basement where we keep the shop vac is required in order for it to work efficiently.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by james willems, March 10, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Very poor suction and very cumbersum. I would never recomend anyone to purchase this over priced and overrated machine. Very hard to use hose and attachments. Wished we had taken it back to Sears the next day.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by connie finn, March 15, 2011

  • 55555
  • 11111
  • 11111

I bought a Dyson at the urgence of friends and family. I thought buying the most expensive one they made would insure that it was the best. BIG MISTAKE!!!! The vacuum is impossible to maneuver and is extreemely heavy. It may pick up well but I hate using it. When I called Dyson they couldn’t help me. They wouldn’t exchange for one more friendly. I would never recommend that anyone by the D28 or any other Dyson product. They don’t stand behind the product and couldn’t care less about the customer.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by gofigurewv, March 19, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

In 14 months, I am on my fourth DC-28 Dyson vacuum. I live alone with 2 cats and vacuum twice a week – it is not over used and it is not operated by anyone but me. The first time it broke (internal screw came off), Best Buy sent it out for repair – 8 weeks later I got it back. Within a week, it broke again. Best Buy exchanged it. Then two months later, the new one broke (it was blowing air instead of sucking). Exchanged at BB. Three months later (vacuum #3), the hose wouldn’t come out. Six months later (today) exchanged it for another one at BB. WTH? I’m sick and tired of having to drive to BB to exchange a $600 vacuum! I wouldn’t recommend ANYONE buy this piece of junk – completely disappointed. And I will bet anyone that I will be back within the next 6 months to get another new one. ONLY positive thing is the warranty AND Best Buy being really good about exchanges.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by MikeF, April 3, 2011

  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 33333

After just unboxing my new DC 28, I was excited to see the difference in cleaning ability compared to an inexpensive machine we had purchased at Walmart which served its purpose for a period of time. I was not impressed after the first few passes with the Dyson but as the machine started to warm up it was apparent it did have strong suction. Per enclosed instructions, I powered the machine down to use the wand and noticed a small collection of dirt on the floor where the vacuum base had been.

Although the hose for the wand is somewhat rigid, I found it very effective for cleaning corners of the ceiling where webs tend to form if left unattended. After powering the machine down again to insert the wand, I powered it back up, finished vacuuming the room and moved onto the next one. Deciding my test was complete after the second room, I powered the vacuum down and began to wind the cord.

Again, I noticed a pile of debris under the vacuum. I immediately called the Dyson helpline for assistance determining if I missed a step when assembling the vacuum. After a brief exhange, I was informed the issue is most likely a bad internal hose which is not covered under warranty. However as an “extension of goodwill” (repeated several times) one would be sent to me. I could not believe what I was hearing.

This is a $600 vacuum – it is a fair and reasonable expectation for it to function properly out of the box. For a company representative to make it sound as though they are doing me a favor in this circumstance is beyond belief. Instead, I am exchanging this machine where I purchased it for another unit – against my better judgement assuming the individual I spoke with is following company procedure/policy.

If I run into a similar situation, I will certainly post again. However, I felt it important to make others considering a Dyson purchase aware.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Barb, July 21, 2011

  • 55555
  • 11111
  • 11111

My husband bought this vacuum right after I had my hip replaced. We’ve had it too long or otherwise I’d take it back in a heartbeat. I have an Electrolux that I absolutely love and will get it repaired as soon as I can.

If you think that you’re going to purchase this machine to save you time, think again.

For an “animal” advertised vacuum, it’s worthless. In fact, I just may talk to an attorney to see if I can sue for “FALSE ADVERTISING” You have to vacuum over the same carpet at least 5-7 times to get the hair up. (TIME) Makes NO difference how fast or slow you go, what setting you have it on: low pile, med or high. It’s just doesn’t come up. Every time I get done vacuuming, I have to clean the “animal” hair off of the bar because it’s all wrapped around it. (TIME) When you do this, it then leaves dirt and gravel all over the area because it was in the hair. (TIME)

Doesn’t suck within 1/2″ to 1″ next to your baseboards. So plan on getting out the attachments and hand clean. (TIME)

The maneuverability of this machine is very cumbersome at best. (TIME)

The electrical cord is shorter than the one on my Electrolux. (TIME)

The head is too tall so it doesn’t get under you bottom cupboards in the kitchen. (TIME)

Cannot lay it down to reach under your beds like I could with my Electrolux (TIME).

When you need to use your attachments, good luck. By the time you get done, you could very well have a good case of carpel tunnel because the hose it so hard to work with. (TIME)

I vacuum either every day or every other day and it’s the worst machine that I have every worked with. It has changed my vacuuming time from about an hour to at least 1 1/2 hours. With the above comments, it also doesn’t sound like other people have had the best of luck either.

BE FOREWARNED — STAY AWAY FROM THIS VACUUM.

I wished that I would have seen this site first.

BTW, Andrew I hope that you don’t live in a glass house 🙁

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Neil, August 24, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

I own 3 dysons as I have a hotel. They are the best machines you could ever own. People who complain that they lose suction, try cleaning the filters. If you use your machine every day then clean them once a month, every week then clean them every 3 months. This will keep your dyson working fine. As for people moaning about rugs, shame on you, you’d have the same problem with any upright from any maker. If you look after your dyson it will look after you, after all it’s very easy to shove it back in the cupboard and forget about it isn’t it? People think that because they are bagless that once empty it’s fine to go again. Neglect your filter will mean loss of suction and eventually a failed motor. My Dyson DC04 is over 17 years old and is STILL going very strong indeed! Don’t Diss Dyson. Think about what you’re using it for and if you’ve got the right machine. Then you can’t go wrong.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Mike, September 18, 2011

  • 22222
  • 33333
  • 33333

I have never been so disappointed in a purchase, I bought this DC28 vacuum due to the commercials but I have been sorely let down by its performance, it is not a cheap machine and so I am feeling that I have wasted the $500.00 that it costs. did a great job out of the box but then had to go in for repair after 4 months as the front brush would not turn, it then stopped again and had to go back in to get looked at 2 months later. It does not pick up hair the way it was advertised and it is the most frustrating vacuum that I have ever had to use. I have a huskie and so purchased this with the hope that it would do a great job on picking up the hair but it often feels like it has no suck power. I have cleaned the filters as instructed but often have to just take the filter out to get any power out of the thing. If you are looking for a new vacuum I would strongly suggest looking at something else, dyson service is not very helpful either. I am sure that I have a lemon of a machine but getting hold of anyone means spending ages on the phone on hold. Not impressed!

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Jennifer, September 28, 2011

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 44444

I normally dont write reviews but after owning a Dyson I feel the need to. My mother had bought a Dyson Animal when they first came out, I loved it, I used it all the time. Then I moved out and got my own place years later. I have animals and loved how much my mothers Dyson Animal worked for her. So I purchased the newer model of the Animal The “DC 28” I was so excited to have it. I bought it in January 2011, by April it was in a repair shop, it took them 5 weeks to fix it. What happened was it started to make this vibrating sound/feeling about ten minutes after i would be vacuuming, every time i would push the vacuum forward when i would pul it back towards me it would make that sound/feeling. Apparently the belt was vibrating back and forth so with the new Dysons you can not just replace one part you have to replace the entire bottom of the vacuum. So they replaced it and i had it back for 4 weeks and it started again. I called Dyson livid. I did not pay almost $600 for a vacuum to need repaired twice in less than 6 months. Dyson will not give me my money back they will just replace it. So once again I have been left without a vacuum. Its going on 5 weeks and I haven’t received my new one yet. Since then I have purchased the Shark vacuum. And let me tell you what it is even better than the DC 28 and I only paid $150. Compared to the $600 I paid for a Dyson. i am now a firm believer in the Shark. In fact i think that the suction on the Shark is even better. Its more lightweight and easier to clean. Oh and the Vacuum repair guy that i brought my Dyson to the first time said that Dyson is his #1 repair vacuum, in fact if he took his top 5 brands and added them all together, it still didn’t compare to the amount of Dysons that he has repaired. Which did upset me cause i spent so much money on this. I will never purschase a Dyson again!

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Wendi, October 9, 2011

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 11111

After two Dysons I am through. They work great initially, but their longevity (greater than 1 1/2 – 2 years) stinks. This one the brush stops working periodically, and the wand attachment somehow creates negative pressure and the hose continually collapses on itself. I have removed and replaced things a thousand times with success very short-lived before it happens again. Our other Dyson is held together with duct tape and JB weld – the plastic is cheap on both units and after time (a short time) the gaskets no longer sear correctly. Don’t waste your money on Dyson.

Dyson DC 28 Review Review by Susan Conte, October 20, 2011

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 22222

I’m going to be 53 tomorrow and I wonder how much longer I will be able to push my new vaccum cleaner. My biggest concern in buying this Dyson 28 was that it would take care of pet hair problems. It is the most difficult to push than any I’ve ever tried. And believe me – I’m a vaccum cleaner fanatic. I’m a strong, large person and often I have to use both hands to navigate the thing. Sure wasn’t what I expected for the money and I would certainly have spent it differently if I’d known.

Write a Review of Dyson DC 28 Review

Suction Power
Maneuverability
Light Weight